29 October 2013 | Sag Harbor, NY
25 June 2013 | Sag Harbor, NY
18 June 2013 | Port Washington, NY
16 June 2013 | Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
13 June 2013 | CapeMay
13 June 2013 | Chesapeake
08 June 2013 | Washington DC
15 May 2013 | North Carolina
15 May 2013 | North Carolina
15 May 2013 | North Carolina
15 May 2013 | Florida and S. Carolina
01 May 2013 | Marathon, Florida
01 May 2013 | Dry Tortuga, Florida
09 March 2013 | Isla Mujeres
09 March 2013 | Isla Mujeres
20 February 2013 | Isla Providencia
06 February 2013 | San Blas Panama
06 February 2013 | Portobelo, Panama
12 January 2013 | Green Turtle Cay, Panama

Home

25 June 2013 | Sag Harbor, NY
Ann
We are home! This is our new home, but my old home. There are a thousand cliches and sit-com theme songs running through my head. My only regret is that we didn’t sail into our new home port, but if we wanted to sail we would have had to wait five days.

As we motored past Greenport I kept thinking about my father, and how I’m now sailing in his playground. When we rounded Cedar Point Lighthouse I remembered my mother telling me how the lighthouse was for sale when she first got married. I’ve always wondered what my life would have been like growing up on that spit of land. Just to make sure I understood the symbolism of returning home, an osprey alighted from a nest in the new light. Welcome to your new nest.

A soon as we were secured to our mooring ball Kara asked to go to the library. She has been limited to what we can download for so long, that the thought of browsing was bliss. Kara and I were welcomed by Susann, the best children’s librarian. In ten minutes Kara had two books she couldn’t wait to devour. The library is the community hub for Sag Harbor.

While Kara and I hit the library, Dave reunited with his truck. He can’t wait to tinker in the toolshed. We have one more week on the boat, while the house is rented. So, as much as he is hankering to repair the dock, he is contenting himself getting Flight back in shape. The miles have worn hard on her, especially this year, so we can’t wait to give her the TLC she needs.

After 10,700 miles, two years ten months and 10 days plus nine countries Taking Flight has a new home. When I look at our route it seems that our path holds the United States and Central America in our cupped hands.
Comments
Vessel Name: Taking Flight
Vessel Make/Model: Nordic Yachts 40
Hailing Port: Seattle, Washington
Crew: David Rhoades, Ann Sutphen and Kara Rhoades
About: We are a family of three cruising in our Nordic 40 down the west coast of the United States into Mexico and Central America.

Taking Flight Adventures

Who: David Rhoades, Ann Sutphen and Kara Rhoades
Port: Seattle, Washington