Taranui Travels

2013 South Pacific Travels

14 September 2013
05 September 2013
01 September 2013
10 August 2013 | Musket Cove
07 August 2013 | Musket Cove
30 July 2013
28 July 2013 | Sawa-i-lau Island
24 July 2013 | Namena, Kubulau, Savusavu
12 July 2013
05 July 2013 | Kaoi Island

August, two milestones. How are we going so far ?

01 August 2013
Tony
Today marks three months since we left NZ on this Pacific adventure & about three months until we get back to NZ.
Also, this is my month for my 60th birthday. Not the kind of thing that you actually look forward to, but accept. My vision as a younger person of a 60 year old man was, over the hill, nearly gone. I don't feel that way at all, having lost abt 10 Kg since I stopped driving my office desk I haven't felt better in years. I will be lucky enough to be able to celebrate this day in Vanuatu with my great friends, Erin Shepherd (also 60 in Aug) and Annie Petersen. Hopefully Christine Anton & Pam Willis will be there too if they can hang in that long, will be a great night. Pity my mate Marg couldn't be there too.

Hows the boat going so far after 3100 Nautical Miles?

Fabulous. All the hard work of family & friends & the investment Marg & I have put into "Taranui" is paying off, and hopefully will do for many more years until we pass her onto Katie & Robin (for the next adventure) I'm proud of her design (I think of brother Paul a lot) her build quality and her fabulous sailing ability, fast yet safe. She even looks good!


How have the "crews" been so far?

Without exception, superb. We have all had a ton of fun and have sailed many different but great sea miles. I've been lucky to have had Robin & Michael on board with the Westie's (Ian & Adam)initially, recently Marg, cuz Lisa & Rob for a month & Katie of the immediate family. Would love to do some miles with Marcel, Deb & Jim, Pen & brother Grant if he ever has the desire. All others who have sailed her have been very pleased and have learnt about themselves, sailing and mother ocean. We have had some great runs and all have been the better for the experience.

Hows the "Skipper" holding up?

As discussed, I feel great physically & mentally. A great sense of satisfaction really. Yes, I'm on edge sometimes crossing a reef or when the wind blows hard, will the anchor hold? do we have the right sail up for the conditions? but that's part of the game.
I am very thankful to my mate Marg for her Aroha & faith in me but mainly to Moll & D'arc. Dar'c was a fabulous sailor and when the going got tough, he was calm & made sensible decisions and supported his crew. D' also had a great sense of adventure, a curiosity about the world, especially the world that could be reached by boat. I have learnt from these experiences and have some of this embedded in me it seems.
But mostly Molly pop. That gorgeous woman is a constant inspiration to me.
Her positive outlook on life, her love of people, her compassion, her sense of adventure ("Lets Go" she said to D' when he talked about sailing around the world) She taught me tons and stood by me in my adaptive, rebellious years. A wonderful friend. I also seem to have her eagle eye, very important for spotting reefs etc. They both had drive & determination, an all critical in my view.
I'm loving the challenge and have risen to it. I find myself very comfortable in the environment and want for more.

Where to from here ?

After this wonderful South Pacific cruise it'll be home for a couple of years, do some work and then there is a plan to sail to the Austral's, to Tahiti, down to Easter Island and on to Chile. After that I'd love to sail to the Galopogas & on to Hawaii & back to Alaska. Who knows from there. No dream, no drive.

Looking forward to sharing some miles with you all at some time or a catch up when we get home.
Comments
Vessel Name: Taranui III
Vessel Make/Model: Whiting
Hailing Port: Auckland

Port: Auckland