Kristen and Rick's Great Adventure

Getting ready to jump into the cruising life with both feet!

11 April 2009 | Kabul
03 September 2008 | Daytona Beach
01 September 2008 | 26'46.174"N 81'23.271"W
31 August 2008 | Ft Myers Beach Mooring field
30 August 2008 | Same as yesterday
29 August 2008 | 26'27.362"N 81'57.036W
28 August 2008 | Boca Grande
26 August 2008 | Clearwater, Fla
25 August 2008 | Hellson...I mean Hudson
22 August 2008 | ???
20 August 2008
20 August 2008 | Hudson, Fl
19 August 2008 | Hudson, Fl
17 August 2008 | Hudson, Fl
17 August 2008 | Yes, still in Hudson
14 August 2008 | Still in Hudson
13 August 2008 | Hudson, Fl
06 August 2008 | Charlotte, NC
02 August 2008 | Still on I-10
02 August 2008 | Somewhere on I-10 East

Back Onboard

13 August 2008 | Hudson, Fl
Squalls, 70's
The pic is of Kristen taking a cockpit shower. Yup, that's how we roll.

We had an absolute ball in New Orleans! We flew down last Thursday and visited my brother and sis-in-law who run a replacement window business there. My buddy Keith owns the business and decided it was time to pay a visit and see what's going on. Of course, we used it as an excuse to sight-see, hit the French Quarter, and spend many hours in Harrah's (where I did quite well!). Kim, if you are reading this, Keith slaved away at the office while Kristen and I played! lol... Anyhoo, we had flight issues on Sunday and ended up staying an extra night. Oh well! I forgot the damned digital camera and ended up using a disposable. Now I find myself looking for a place that will develop the film I shot on Bourbon Street without reporting me to the police! I'll wait until we get to the Keys and do it there. They're pretty liberal down there! :) You'll have to check the photo album once I get them on.

So here we sit in the cabin sipping a Mount Gay Rum and Coke and watching some pretty intense squall lines blow through. They are associated with a low pressure system going through the Fla/Ga area. It's making for some pretty nasty weather here.

We had a very busy yet productive day. We are now fully provisioned and kitted out. We've got stuff crammed all over the place. It's pretty haphazard now but we have tons of storage space yet to be touched so there's light at the end of the tunnel. I'm pleasantly surprised at how much the fridge can hold. It also has a very small freezer section but I pretty much use that for an ice cube production and storage facility. Hey, rum and cokes require ice cubes!

We have a mechanic coming over either tomorrow or Friday for some last minute required work (read repacking the stuffing box while in the water...you sailors will know what I mean). I hope to slip him a few bucks to give me an expert's tour of my diesel engine's systems. Then, it'll be topping off the tanks and hitting the proverbial road. Or in this case, hitting the high seas!
Comments
Vessel Name: Tiki
Vessel Make/Model: Morgan Out Island 33
Hailing Port: Charlotte, NC
Crew: Rick and Kristen
About: Sitting on the "G" and waiting for the "O"
Extra: The trip to Luperon was the proverbial straw. It's on! Oh yes....it is ON!
Home Page: http://www.sailblogs.com/member/tbd

Cruise 08

Who: Rick and Kristen
Port: Charlotte, NC