s/v True Colors

08 June 2015 | St. Croix
05 June 2015 | St. Croix
30 January 2015
10 January 2015
28 December 2014
21 December 2014 | Antigua, Carlyle bay
19 December 2014 | Grenada
18 December 2014 | Antigua
05 August 2014 | St Eustatia
25 June 2014
20 June 2014 | Jost Van Dyke
26 May 2014 | Samana, DR
29 April 2014
23 April 2014
08 April 2014
01 April 2014 | Marsh Harbor
25 March 2014 | Great Guana Cay
13 March 2014

Almost caught up

21 December 2014 | Antigua, Carlyle bay
Lisa
So, grenada was better than ok for the three months we were there. Mart was actually there almost four. He and Lily brought the boat solo from Saint Martin. Before they left, a named storm ran past the island. By then, smart as he is, marty had moved to the lagoon which was more protected than our previous anchorage. Sustained winds were about 25 knots gusting to 40. All was well. No dragging or bumper boats. He was with friends and I think they took good care of each other.
He stopped at saint eustatia more commonly known as statia. Seems there were a lot of de Windt ancestors there and marty did a bit of research and made friends with the lady who is the historical society. We will stop again on our way through the islands after the first of the year.
The only kind of bad thing that happened in grenada happened to me. Prickly bay, our anchorage had a somewhat funktified dinghy dock. It was floating but precariously anchored to the shore. There was a sheet of plywood joining the floating to the fixed dock. It bounced with the floating dock. I was carrying groceries done the dock, when the sheet of plywood bounced up. I had already committed my foot to a particular spot. The outcome was that the plywood ripped most of my left big toenail off. But I kept on walking. Friends Edith and Louise offered to help, take me back to the boat, come back for the dinghy, etc. but I pushed on. I got back to the boat and was moving groceries from the dinghy to the boat when I let go of the big boat and began to drift away. Not a problem but I had pulled off the kill switch, accidently, and couldn't start the engine. I figured I'd just float around the bay, bleeding, with Lily looking on when Edith came and towed me back to the boat. Marty returned by way of some nice persons giving him a ride just as I had finished unloading the food. I whimpered a little and showed him my gross injury. I do have pictures, by they are not for the faint of heart. I did not include them in the gallery...the ending to the story is two days later, I went to st. Augustine clinic and had the nail removed. Figure a year before my poor ugly toe looks normal again.
We are about to lift anchor and move to another anchorage with not good wifi. When I can, I will continue the saga of our trip north from grenada. Adios...
Comments
Vessel Name: True Colors
Vessel Make/Model: Manta 42 Mark II Catamaran
Hailing Port: Annapolis, MD
Crew: Marty & Lisa Kelly

s/v True Colors

Who: Marty & Lisa Kelly
Port: Annapolis, MD