Tumultuous Uproar

A cruising boat with a racing problem...

16 April 2024
09 March 2024
29 February 2024
29 February 2024 | Anse Cochon, St. Lucia
22 February 2024
03 February 2024
31 January 2024
21 January 2024
21 January 2024
28 December 2023
04 December 2023
27 November 2023
27 October 2023
27 September 2023
30 May 2023

Two month check-up

14 September 2015
Posts about this trip are meant to be observations and commentary which are from either Lisa or me. This is my personal posting about the past two months.

Acclimation to the cruising life has been easier than I thought it would be. What's not to like, we are living on a boat in some of the most beautiful cruising grounds in the world. But, I have already expounded on that. The most difficult part of the voyage has been the several weeks of prep leading up to the departure. There were difficult and numerous tasks along with the emotions connected to the drastic change. The separation from family and friends was the most difficult and will always leave an empty place in my heart. Two months or two years won't change that.

I talked with a fisherman in Sylvan Beach (Oneida Lake along the Erie Canal) one early morning. He wasn't having much luck but I shared a scone Lisa had just baked with him. He said, “I bet meeting other people is a fun part of the trip.” I shook his hand and said, “Yes and you are one of those people.” He pocketed the scone and said, “Well, the fish aren't biting and it is my anniversary, I better be heading home.”

The personal encounters are and will be a highlight of the trip. I expected this prior to departure and am sure not disappointed.

Uproar is the perfect cruising boat for me. She still delights when sailing, even in her less-than-trim cruising form. I can feel the difference but the performance is still there. All systems are working well on Uproar. I have had some minor maintenance issues but so far, so good. The freezer doesn't work well at 95 degrees but who does? I can add water cooling to the condenser to solve this. The electrical system is phenomenal. We can go for days without plugging in or running the engine. When the engine does run, it charges the batteries at over 150 amps! I haven't finished installing the SSB/Ham radio or watermaker so procrastination is still my companion.

Uproar has accommodations that work very well. We have our first guest, Caroline Tyson, tomorrow but I'm sure there will be plenty of room. Working the deck, cooking, heads and showers, all seem well suited to what we are doing. Sure, there may be better boats out there but I am not missing any features or spaces that I would want to be different.

I guess I'm avoiding more personal reflections. Well, here goes:

Physically, I feel great. I thought I was losing some weight but since we have met up with Bill and Judy, perhaps I'm eating more. I have been getting some exercise working the boat and swimming. Now that I'm in the canal, no swimming. I don't expect to swim in the Chesapeake either. I might need to start some other means of getting off my ass. I sleep well, have no complaints at all. I am more conscious of my health and eat a bit less. I also have quit wearing prescription sunglasses. I can barely tell the difference and I can read instruments and the chart plotter better with plain sunglasses. Oh, and my razor has taken a serious sabbatical.

I believe I am living more in the present. John Groth, neighbor and mentor, has taught me to do this through meditation. I have never been a worrier and am even less so now. I have become frustrated several times with my new Microsoft Surface. Today, I told Lisa, “If that is the extent of my frustration, I am a very lucky man.” I'm going to conquer this beast someday!

I don't meditate daily as I did at the River Retreat. No excuses but life afloat is different every day. I do find myself meditating just sitting for a few moments, usually when seeing a beautiful sight. John taught me, “Make everything you do a meditation.” I would like to achieve that. I will try to sit more frequently John. Meditation is a great way to relieve stress or anxiety. I haven't felt much stress or anxiety so the cruise is becoming my meditation.

Boredom is never a problem. Days go quickly, especially with the earlier sunsets and hints of Fall color in the trees. I read a lot and am often scavenging or re-stocking free libraries. Little Libraries are prolific and a wonderful phenomenon. I really enjoy my guitar and Ukulele. I go in spurts of playing them and letting them rest.

I read in one book written by two rookie cruisers to take everyone you meet as sincere. I have been doing this and it has led to accepting two dinner invitations on beautiful island homes. And, I'll never forget the fisherman heading home to celebrate his anniversary with his wife. I hope he got home in time to serve her a warm, blueberry scone and some coffee in bed.
Comments
Vessel Name: Tumultuous Uproar
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau 42s7
Hailing Port: Milwaukee, WI
Crew: Popeye (Russ Whitford)
Social:
Tumultuous Uproar's Photos - Main
45 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
68 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
61 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
24 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
53 Photos
Created 7 March 2016
No Photos
Created 7 March 2016
4 Photos
Created 28 August 2015
2 Photos
Created 21 August 2015
Uproar FULL ON in the North Channel! Picture by Rick Pask.
1 Photo
Created 21 August 2015
40 Photos
Created 21 August 2015
8/15/15
29 Photos
Created 21 August 2015
9 Photos
Created 21 August 2015