Tumultuous Uproar

A cruising boat with a racing problem...

16 April 2024
09 March 2024
29 February 2024
29 February 2024 | Anse Cochon, St. Lucia
22 February 2024
03 February 2024
31 January 2024
21 January 2024
21 January 2024
28 December 2023
04 December 2023
27 November 2023
27 October 2023
27 September 2023
30 May 2023

Pink People

13 December 2016
We are being invaded by pink people. Our anchorage at Anse Cochon was idyllic. There were only 4 boats, a beautiful palm tree lined beach and the only building was a boutique hotel on the south bluff. That's what we woke up to. But at 9:00am the pink people invaded. Up to three mega-catamarans at a time brought around 50 people each to “our idyllic beach.”

Castries is the major cruise ship port on St. Lucia. The cats load up with cruise ship passengers and take them to the beautiful beaches south. Every time one approaches, they play a recorded message. I know much of it by heart: “No jumping off the boat, wait until the ladder has been put down. You may use the toilets but don't flush until we leave the bay. We will sound the horn in 40 minutes at which time you must return to the boat. You may have either a cheese or tuna sandwich.”

The pink people love the clear, warm water and beautiful beach. Some of them snorkel the amazing reefs right near the beach. It is a beautiful spot and a lot of pictures are taken. When they leave, they cruise by us and stare like we are alien creatures. I always wave.

The boat boys, Titus, Tiger, Mike and John would paddle their kayaks up to the big cats and try to sell coconuts and crafts to the passengers. In between cats, they paddle over to us. They know cruisers don't buy trinkets but they have to try. Sometimes they just sit and chat. I received great fishing advice from one of them. I was cleaning the grill grate on the beach and another brought me an herbed, rum drink. I told him I didn't have any money and he said, “No problem!” I did end up taking his kids for a screaming dinghy ride around the bay.

The local people know we are not pink people. We were in the Castries market and an energetic Rasta wanted to show us his wood carvings. Lisa said, “We live on a boat, we don't have room for any art but they are very nice.” He said, “You didn't have to tell me that.” I asked why. He said, “I can see by your appearance you live on a boat. Well at least him, not so much she.” I have been getting this reaction a lot lately. Maybe it's time for a haircut? Well, not just yet.

Pink people are also found on the major beaches, straw markets and local festivals. We sometimes meet them, especially when they are wearing Wisconsin or Packers gear. They invariably ask the same questions about our cruising life. The one that shocks them is our answer to, “When are you going back?” Our answer is, “We don't plan to. When it's time, we will know.”

I hope no one is offended by my term, “pink people.” Some of our cruising friends now use it too. Pink people don't annoy me in the slightest bit. I smile when I see them enjoying our paradise. I'm glad they can get a taste of what we enjoy every day. It makes me even more grateful that we live this life.
Comments
Vessel Name: Tumultuous Uproar
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau 42s7
Hailing Port: Milwaukee, WI
Crew: Popeye (Russ Whitford)
Social:
Tumultuous Uproar's Photos - Main
45 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
68 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
61 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
24 Photos
Created 8 March 2016
53 Photos
Created 7 March 2016
No Photos
Created 7 March 2016
4 Photos
Created 28 August 2015
2 Photos
Created 21 August 2015
Uproar FULL ON in the North Channel! Picture by Rick Pask.
1 Photo
Created 21 August 2015
40 Photos
Created 21 August 2015
8/15/15
29 Photos
Created 21 August 2015
9 Photos
Created 21 August 2015