Last Chance ... A Two Year Journey

Leaving the Great Lakes for a Caribbean/Pacific adventure

26 June 2020 | Beaver Island
24 June 2020 | Mackinac Island
21 June 2020 | Off Racine
02 May 2020 | Larsen Marine
17 August 2019 | Half way across the lake and back
20 July 2019 | Sturgeon Bay, WI
15 July 2019 | Start of Hook Race off Racine, Wi
24 June 2019 | Mackinac Island
16 June 2019 | Waukegan Harbor
30 May 2019 | Somewhere off Waukegan
29 April 2019 | Waukegan, IL
14 February 2019 | George Town, Exumas
12 February 2019 | Great Galliot Cay
11 February 2019 | Sampson Cay, Exumas, Bahamas
09 February 2019 | Big Majors Spot
08 February 2019 | Near Midway Airport, Chicago
01 January 2019 | Larsen Marine
19 November 2018 | Hanover Park, IL

Stormy weather and do overs

24 October 2017 | Beaufort Docksides Marina
Sunny, windy, pleasant
Last night should have been my night to catch up on my sleep, but it was not to be. I didn’t make it to bed early, and around 2am a wicked storm came through. That got me out of bed to check lines and such, although I wasn’t sure trying to actually unfasten a line and adjust it would be a good idea. The wind was blowing 40-50 knots - who says I can even pull the boat in under those conditions. I had carefully gone over every line when I docked, so they would have to do. Pete, from two boats down, was concerned about his boat and how well the dock hands had cleated his lines, since he felt he was getting very close to the boat next to him. So he was out getting pelted by the rain as he added another line. I posted a short clip of the storm.

This morning, someone from Outland Hatch Covers was here measuring my two hatches. I hope to have them before I leave Thursday evening.

I was tired and lazy and slow today, so my only project was the leak on my V berth shelf. I’m pretty sure the stanchion does not leak. I know one bolt on the bow pulpit does leak. So some of the work I did with Roger needed to be redone. Pete helped as I completely removed the bolt this time to apply caulk in the hole and on the bolt. Then I found out why I didn’t do that the first time. It is hard to put the backing washer, split washer and nut back on with only one hand, while on my back with my hand over my head around a corner and barely able to see the bolt while shining the flashlight with my other hand. Gravity was my enemy. I used caulk and tape to get the three pieces to stick together and stay nearly centered on the hole where the bolt needed to go. Then on the deck, I scraped off the caulking I previously did around the base of the bow pulpit and tried caulking that again. The enemy in that case is the old silicon caulk the boat yard used. Nothing will stick to old silicon, so good prep work is critical. When I did this part on the Erie Canal, I did a half ass job, with the corresponding results.

Pete and Sue were getting fuel, another boat was after them, so it was a good time for me to fuel up also. The pump is right in front of my boat. Best fuel up ever! Or at least the most convenient one ever.

Several folks here are waiting on the weather and are leaving Thursday morning, but they are going inside, while I am going outside. Outside means ocean. Inside means ICW waterway.
Comments
Vessel Name: Last Chance
Vessel Make/Model: Islander 36 (1979)
Hailing Port: Waukegan, Illinois
Last Chance's Photos - Main
21 Photos
Created 1 February 2019
3 Photos
Created 22 July 2018
18 Photos
Created 8 April 2018
31 Photos
Created 22 January 2018
Traveling down the Chesapeake and the East Coast
53 Photos
Created 11 September 2017
Erie Canal and Hudson River
33 Photos
Created 18 August 2017
Great Lakes part of the journey.
45 Photos
Created 15 July 2017
Boat prep and races prior to departure
12 Photos
Created 14 June 2017