Last Chance ... A Two Year Journey

Leaving the Great Lakes for a Caribbean/Pacific adventure

26 June 2020 | Beaver Island
24 June 2020 | Mackinac Island
21 June 2020 | Off Racine
02 May 2020 | Larsen Marine
17 August 2019 | Half way across the lake and back
20 July 2019 | Sturgeon Bay, WI
15 July 2019 | Start of Hook Race off Racine, Wi
24 June 2019 | Mackinac Island
16 June 2019 | Waukegan Harbor
30 May 2019 | Somewhere off Waukegan
29 April 2019 | Waukegan, IL
14 February 2019 | George Town, Exumas
12 February 2019 | Great Galliot Cay
11 February 2019 | Sampson Cay, Exumas, Bahamas
09 February 2019 | Big Majors Spot
08 February 2019 | Near Midway Airport, Chicago
01 January 2019 | Larsen Marine
19 November 2018 | Hanover Park, IL

Last night before I reach the promised land

31 October 2017 | Atlantic Ocean off Georgia
Sunny and cool with a light breeze
I sailed last night (I'm motoring today). I need to go slow this trip, slower than before. The Jacksonville run is the shortest of the three legs (210 miles). So I started out with the genoa rolled up a bit. I suppose I could leave at dawn on this leg and then be free to use all the speed I could get and shorten the trip by 8 hours. But we just weren't ready psychologically or physically, and we had some jobs to do to get ready. The weather wasn't ready either, which is the biggest gating factor.

A few dolphins came over to check out my boat this morning.

There was a wild nor'easter in the northeast this weekend - the type of weather I was so paranoid about and so desperate to avoid. Just before it arrived, Roger and Tari stopped at Point Lookout Marina to say goodbye to Keith and Lyn. Then the storm hit and literally slammed them both. The docks are at a fixed height and the storm surge brought the water over the top of the docks. Not good if you are trying to put fenders down to keep your boat off the dock. So the boats were tied off with extra lines and there was very little sleeping going on that night. As I write this, I'€™m over 40 miles offshore, so I can't look at their Facebook pages and get the exact details. Due to the curvature of the land, each leg takes me that far offshore.

I'm dealing with a lovely toothache. Super sensitive to temperature. While transferring fuel from a jug to the tank, there was a mild BANG! The port side lower back shroud let loose. The threaded part of the stay was bent, indicating it was now defective - not sure why Larsen wouldn'€™t replace it when I asked. Now it has clean snapped in two. There was enough thread left to put it back together. It broke while motoring in no wind. When I measure how loaded it is, the needle maybe comes off zero.

Riddle me this. Suddenly the time on my older hand held GPS device does not match the time on my iDevices. The GPS says 7, but the others say 8, and all claim to be on Eastern Time. Answer in tomorrow’s blog.
Comments
Vessel Name: Last Chance
Vessel Make/Model: Islander 36 (1979)
Hailing Port: Waukegan, Illinois
Last Chance's Photos - Main
21 Photos
Created 1 February 2019
3 Photos
Created 22 July 2018
18 Photos
Created 8 April 2018
31 Photos
Created 22 January 2018
Traveling down the Chesapeake and the East Coast
53 Photos
Created 11 September 2017
Erie Canal and Hudson River
33 Photos
Created 18 August 2017
Great Lakes part of the journey.
45 Photos
Created 15 July 2017
Boat prep and races prior to departure
12 Photos
Created 14 June 2017