Last Chance ... A Two Year Journey

Leaving the Great Lakes for a Caribbean/Pacific adventure

26 June 2020 | Beaver Island
24 June 2020 | Mackinac Island
21 June 2020 | Off Racine
02 May 2020 | Larsen Marine
17 August 2019 | Half way across the lake and back
20 July 2019 | Sturgeon Bay, WI
15 July 2019 | Start of Hook Race off Racine, Wi
24 June 2019 | Mackinac Island
16 June 2019 | Waukegan Harbor
30 May 2019 | Somewhere off Waukegan
29 April 2019 | Waukegan, IL
14 February 2019 | George Town, Exumas
12 February 2019 | Great Galliot Cay
11 February 2019 | Sampson Cay, Exumas, Bahamas
09 February 2019 | Big Majors Spot
08 February 2019 | Near Midway Airport, Chicago
01 January 2019 | Larsen Marine
19 November 2018 | Hanover Park, IL

Painful day followed by a gainful day

04 November 2017 | Fort George Island Marina
Sunny and pleasant, same as everyday so far
Today there is less pain in my mouth, that is until just now when I slapped at a bug on that side of my face. Daughter Sarah wrote a prescription for amoxicillin for me before I left. I have started taking that. What a great and wise daughter. The woman in the office went through a terrible toothache, so she feels my pain and will make something happen with a dentist on Monday.

I got my Thanksgiving/Christmas marina reservation finally. Then I got my plane tickets. So that finally worked out and removed a great deal of stress for me. The shroud guy called and was just here, so that is looking good. The photo shows the crippled shroud.

Got my backup iPad working. Not easy, but it is back. I had to let the battery die. Then I had to cycle through dialogue boxes several times.
You need to restore this iPad
Go ahead
Restore failed
You need to restore this iPad ... Go ahead ... Restore failed ... and around and around we went.

Then the day almost turned on me. My brother convinced me to pull the paddle wheel to clean it so it would work again. The problem with that is when you pull it out, water comes running into the hole in your boat until you get the plug in. And then you have to reverse the process and get it lined up properly. Well, I couldn’t get the paddle wheel all the way out, and then I couldn’t stop the boat from leaking after I pushed it back down. I won’t repeat my thoughts at that point. It turned out Mark forgot one step, and when the previous owner showed me how to pull out the old paddle wheel, it didn’t involve this missing step. And from what I could see from the top, I didn’t realize it had to be done. Upon further review with a flashlight, it became obvious (hindsight). After understanding better how it all went together, I got it put back properly with no leak (I hope). I still need to check underwater to see if it is lined up properly, but that will wait for better water.

The tide here is 6 feet. That means every six hours it is going up or down 6 feet. The current can be up to four knots. So coming and going at slack tide is very useful.
Comments
Vessel Name: Last Chance
Vessel Make/Model: Islander 36 (1979)
Hailing Port: Waukegan, Illinois
Last Chance's Photos - Main
21 Photos
Created 1 February 2019
3 Photos
Created 22 July 2018
18 Photos
Created 8 April 2018
31 Photos
Created 22 January 2018
Traveling down the Chesapeake and the East Coast
53 Photos
Created 11 September 2017
Erie Canal and Hudson River
33 Photos
Created 18 August 2017
Great Lakes part of the journey.
45 Photos
Created 15 July 2017
Boat prep and races prior to departure
12 Photos
Created 14 June 2017