Last Chance ... A Two Year Journey

Leaving the Great Lakes for a Caribbean/Pacific adventure

26 June 2020 | Beaver Island
24 June 2020 | Mackinac Island
21 June 2020 | Off Racine
02 May 2020 | Larsen Marine
17 August 2019 | Half way across the lake and back
20 July 2019 | Sturgeon Bay, WI
15 July 2019 | Start of Hook Race off Racine, Wi
24 June 2019 | Mackinac Island
16 June 2019 | Waukegan Harbor
30 May 2019 | Somewhere off Waukegan
29 April 2019 | Waukegan, IL
14 February 2019 | George Town, Exumas
12 February 2019 | Great Galliot Cay
11 February 2019 | Sampson Cay, Exumas, Bahamas
09 February 2019 | Big Majors Spot
08 February 2019 | Near Midway Airport, Chicago
01 January 2019 | Larsen Marine
19 November 2018 | Hanover Park, IL

Dinghy afloat and I’m underwater

06 February 2018 | Chub Cay
Mostly sunny, windy, low 70’s
Roger likes it here. Sandy beach, resort, nice marina, and not overly commercial. This is his Bahama dream to be lived day after day. The resort is looking for business and volunteered to give him, Tari and Lyn a tour. From my boat, the resort and beach look fantastic, although empty.

This morning I inflated and launched the dinghy. It was a bit gusty, so I had to pick my spot to launch it over the side. Some folks thought that they would never see my dinghy (I always went with Roger, then Keith the last few days). After such a long period of disuse, I worried that the cooling water flow would be clogged on the motor. Sure enough, that was an issue. Some water came out, but not the required solid stream. After restarting the motor a third time, the blockage cleared and the water came streaming out as it should. I also tried to reduce the idle speed, unsuccessfully. I might need to break down and read the manual for that.

This afternoon I went in the water with my fins and mask. The first time I went under the water, a long gar fish was on the other side of the rudder. We both looked at each other thinking - what are you doing here? The anode on my shaft is gone. The anode at the back of the propeller is still there. I think the shaft anode came off and I don’t plan to replace it. Barnacles are everywhere under the boat. Every time I scrape them off, I somehow end up with several small cuts on my hands, even though I am using tools. My snorkeling career is just starting, so I’m not very good at it, nor that comfortable. Tomorrow I will go down again and work on the engine intake hole and the keel cooler on the hull for the refrigerator. And maybe the paddle wheel, if I still have energy. The water is in the upper 70’s.

Someone posted a comment on my blog about our anchoring in the middle of the Grand Bahama Bank. They are at this very same anchorage, so I got Roger and we both went over to say hi. John finished his story about evading the other boat that he almost hit after he motor sailed past our encampment. His blog comment is interesting reading.

Tari finally had Roger and I do dishes after dinner. I dried, as per usual, and Roger washed. Roger did his incompetent best so that Tari would get up and take over, but she held firm ... either that, or else it was because she was laughing so hard, gasping for breath and crying that she couldn’t get up off the bunk. The entertainment was free, and I’m pretty sure Roger and I aren’t ready for the big time.

The other Last Chance is in this nearby marina and is a sport fishing boat. It is quite strange to see him motor by with the name Last Chance on his stern!
Comments
Vessel Name: Last Chance
Vessel Make/Model: Islander 36 (1979)
Hailing Port: Waukegan, Illinois
Last Chance's Photos - Main
21 Photos
Created 1 February 2019
3 Photos
Created 22 July 2018
18 Photos
Created 8 April 2018
31 Photos
Created 22 January 2018
Traveling down the Chesapeake and the East Coast
53 Photos
Created 11 September 2017
Erie Canal and Hudson River
33 Photos
Created 18 August 2017
Great Lakes part of the journey.
45 Photos
Created 15 July 2017
Boat prep and races prior to departure
12 Photos
Created 14 June 2017