Last Chance ... A Two Year Journey

Leaving the Great Lakes for a Caribbean/Pacific adventure

26 June 2020 | Beaver Island
24 June 2020 | Mackinac Island
21 June 2020 | Off Racine
02 May 2020 | Larsen Marine
17 August 2019 | Half way across the lake and back
20 July 2019 | Sturgeon Bay, WI
15 July 2019 | Start of Hook Race off Racine, Wi
24 June 2019 | Mackinac Island
16 June 2019 | Waukegan Harbor
30 May 2019 | Somewhere off Waukegan
29 April 2019 | Waukegan, IL
14 February 2019 | George Town, Exumas
12 February 2019 | Great Galliot Cay
11 February 2019 | Sampson Cay, Exumas, Bahamas
09 February 2019 | Big Majors Spot
08 February 2019 | Near Midway Airport, Chicago
01 January 2019 | Larsen Marine
19 November 2018 | Hanover Park, IL

Arrived in Florida ... campfire on the beach

13 February 2018 | Rose Island
Sunny, breezy, 77.
Kristtaney arrived in Florida and docked at the marina where they will store the boat on land until they can start another trip. Long journey and day, but they made it!

Quiet day as everyone worked on their boats. I got my deck wash working by removing the fuse assembly. I tested the fuse - it was good but no power past the fuse. I replaced the fuse, no change. I might have another fuse assembly I can use, but for now am going without. The pump only runs when I turn it on and use it. The switch is off otherwise. I also ran a line under the boat so I could work on my paddle wheel. I scraped out more crap and it turns now. We shall see tomorrow if it works.

The day ended with a campfire on the beach and more stories. The scariest one came from Bruce and Chris who had a tornado wreck their property in Minnesota only months before leaving on their trip. Their boat was there, but luckily was not damaged significantly.

Landing on the beach and getting back off was an adventure. There were breaking waves, and even though they were small, it made for some excitement and splashing. Each time you crossed that point where the waves were breaking, you got it. Going out, I especially took it on the chin, so to speak, even with Jerry and Bruce pushing me out. And of course, the engine wouldn't start when I needed it to so that I wouldn't be pushed back ashore for round two. I finally guessed that the kill cord had somehow got ripped off during the somewhat wet and violent launch. Turning on the flashlight confirmed it - there it was, lying on the bottom of the dinghy. Reattaching that, the engine started right up and I made my getaway.

Tomorrow I leave at 8 and head back to Nassau to get Roger. I will also be bringing back garbage from the other boats. Small detail, but these are things you have to take care of when you are cruising. There is no curb side pickup.
Comments
Vessel Name: Last Chance
Vessel Make/Model: Islander 36 (1979)
Hailing Port: Waukegan, Illinois
Last Chance's Photos - Main
21 Photos
Created 1 February 2019
3 Photos
Created 22 July 2018
18 Photos
Created 8 April 2018
31 Photos
Created 22 January 2018
Traveling down the Chesapeake and the East Coast
53 Photos
Created 11 September 2017
Erie Canal and Hudson River
33 Photos
Created 18 August 2017
Great Lakes part of the journey.
45 Photos
Created 15 July 2017
Boat prep and races prior to departure
12 Photos
Created 14 June 2017