Last Chance ... A Two Year Journey

Leaving the Great Lakes for a Caribbean/Pacific adventure

26 June 2020 | Beaver Island
24 June 2020 | Mackinac Island
21 June 2020 | Off Racine
02 May 2020 | Larsen Marine
17 August 2019 | Half way across the lake and back
20 July 2019 | Sturgeon Bay, WI
15 July 2019 | Start of Hook Race off Racine, Wi
24 June 2019 | Mackinac Island
16 June 2019 | Waukegan Harbor
30 May 2019 | Somewhere off Waukegan
29 April 2019 | Waukegan, IL
14 February 2019 | George Town, Exumas
12 February 2019 | Great Galliot Cay
11 February 2019 | Sampson Cay, Exumas, Bahamas
09 February 2019 | Big Majors Spot
08 February 2019 | Near Midway Airport, Chicago
01 January 2019 | Larsen Marine
19 November 2018 | Hanover Park, IL

We have Roger back!

14 February 2018 | Rose Island
Sunny, breezy, 77
This morning I pulled up anchor with a bit of wind blowing. Hard work. Tomorrow I will use the engine to give me some slack in the beginning. I motored the six miles back to Nassau to pick up Roger where we last left him. As always, I checked in with Nassau Harbor Control on VHF 16 as I neared the channel entrance. They want to know where you are going, what port you are coming from and your documentation number. Docking at the fuel dock was tricky with the current running fairly hard. I ended up just drifting down on the dock and using the engine to keep from going backwards.

On the way to Nassau, I went through a pass that Jerry had avoided the first time due to my six foot draft and the charts on Paradise Hunter. My charts said it was okay, but I was sweating the entire time going through there today. I am getting better with interpreting the water color. Going through a cut on the way back to Rose Island was interesting. The wind and waves were against the current and that made it a washing machine for a few minutes. One wave was particularly steep. Straight up we went, then the bottom dropped out at the top - seemingly there was no water. We came crashing down and almost buried the bow. We made it through, but it was a good lesson on what cuts could be like and why you would avoid them at certain times. This was a minor cut, so the wild water was short lived, but still impressive. Those catamarans full of people that we were seeing in the afternoon didn’t go through there in the morning. They just stopped in the Nassau channel to let folks swim there.

My paddle wheel now works and seems accurate. Hooray! Tomorrow we leave Rose Island for our first stop in the Exumas. I am bouncing here again and am tired of the swells. This morning I finally tried sleeping on the cabin floor. That spot has the least motion, but also has the least comfort. I will try the V berth again tonight, but if it is not working, I will switch to the floor. If the wind would shift a bit and lighten up, it would be better. Low tide is also good, since now I am downwind of a reef that blocks the swell at low tide.
Comments
Vessel Name: Last Chance
Vessel Make/Model: Islander 36 (1979)
Hailing Port: Waukegan, Illinois
Last Chance's Photos - Main
21 Photos
Created 1 February 2019
3 Photos
Created 22 July 2018
18 Photos
Created 8 April 2018
31 Photos
Created 22 January 2018
Traveling down the Chesapeake and the East Coast
53 Photos
Created 11 September 2017
Erie Canal and Hudson River
33 Photos
Created 18 August 2017
Great Lakes part of the journey.
45 Photos
Created 15 July 2017
Boat prep and races prior to departure
12 Photos
Created 14 June 2017