Taya's voyages after Patagonia

After Chilean "canales" from Puerto Montt to Puerto Williams in 2019, In 2020, Taya moves up the South Atlantic Coast, from Tierra Del Fuego to Baltimore.

Wednesday 9/20 5:24 pm Pacific time

21 September 2017
Alan/clear skies
It's beer time! So one Hinano and some peanuts in the cockpit.
I have a big 85ft yacht catching up with me about 10NM behind (same heading). I first saw it on the AIS. Now an hour later I can barely make it out on the horizon.
Big news: I "caught" a fish. Not so good news: I lost him! I saw him jump and catch the lure about 200ft behind the boat; I just cheapened to be looking back from the cockpit when I saw that. Then the bungee chord the line is tied to started stretching big time; So I put some gloves on and started to bring him in but I could hardly pull; it must have been a big mofo! So I thought I'd better have a harness on when I catch him off the back. And to go get the harness I had to tie the line to a cleat again. So I did, and in these 10s it took me, I heard a loud wizzzz bang gathered a final and he was gone, together with my expensive Raiatean lure. But do not fret, the lesson I learned is not that I should stop to put the harness on; instead it is that the harness must be within reach.... as well as the gloves and the knife.
Otherwise it was a gorgeous day. We've been going at 5 or 5.5 kts all day but there is a 1/2 kt counter current so we are averaging about 4 to 4.5kts. I could have the reacher out instead of the jib but I am enjoying the leisurely ride.
The wind vane continues to do a marvelous job with none of the constant whining of the autopilot. And the watt and sea plus solar are covering all the energy needs, including the fridge.
I spent a lot of time today reading a good french detective/feminist/political mystery, fine tuning the wind vane and doing some house cleaning. Even did a little guitar. But I am pretty much taking it very easy.
Comments
Vessel Name: Taya
Vessel Make/Model: Passoa 50
Hailing Port: Dover, Delaware
Crew: Alan Cresswell and Katy Clay
Extra: Katy, author posting the blog.
Social:
Taya's Photos - Main
Fall 2019 trip from Puerto Montt to Puerto WIlliam
10 Photos
Created 6 November 2019
December 2017
1 Photo
Created 27 December 2017
Prep for the Southern Ocean
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
New Zealand prep
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
3 Photos
Created 3 October 2017
3 Photos
Created 1 July 2015
2 Photos
Created 24 January 2015