Taya's voyages after Patagonia

After Chilean "canales" from Puerto Montt to Puerto Williams in 2019, In 2020, Taya moves up the South Atlantic Coast, from Tierra Del Fuego to Baltimore.

Oct 2 Arrival in Neiafu

03 October 2017
Wheewf!
Finally sitting down.

No log today.
Yesterday mid afternoon I rounded the North of Vava'u and came down the west coast to get to the entrance to the bay and inner bay of Neiafu. I didn't want to get there in the dark so I hove to at the mouth of the bay and had a beautiful late afternoon watching the coast drift by very slowly. So I had 2 cold beers (the small ones... 33cc so not so
much). But I had to get all hands on deck at 3 am to start actually going toward the entrance (when you're hove to you drift downwind so you lose ground). I sailed in tacking in that pretty amazing scenery, and then motored through a bottleneck defining the entrance to the inner bay.This must be a hurricane hole because it's super protected from all sides.
I docked at the customs' dock and waited for the officer to come back from the airport. The filled in a million papers repeating the same numbers (boat, passport, hull color, etc,,,,,) ad eternam, then did the health ministry health clearance then the quarantine officer something (I brought my garbage bag to her) . It took only 3 hours. Then I had to leave the customs' dock to go moor. The place has many moorings because it's hard to anchor (too deep) and no docks or marina. But there are a zillion sailboats here so all moorings are taken. SO I went on the SE side of that inner bay and anchored in a narrow strip in 34ft of wate. A little to the right it's the (250ft maybe) and a little to the left it's 120ft of water. Took a while to set the anchor but I think I'm good. In motoring around to look for a mooring I saw Lupan (the swedes Pelle and his wife), so I'm going over in 15' and we'll go to shore and have dinner. Francoise and JC are due in Wednesday. I inflated the fucking dinghy (remember how hard it is to get that thing set up om deck!) and put the little motor on, so I'm good to go. I have to cross the bay!!! What an adventure; 1/2 mile in that dinghy!)
Any way I'd better get going.
I'll write more tomorrow and maybe look for an internet cafe
Comments
Vessel Name: Taya
Vessel Make/Model: Passoa 50
Hailing Port: Dover, Delaware
Crew: Alan Cresswell and Katy Clay
Extra: Katy, author posting the blog.
Social:
Taya's Photos - Main
Fall 2019 trip from Puerto Montt to Puerto WIlliam
10 Photos
Created 6 November 2019
December 2017
1 Photo
Created 27 December 2017
Prep for the Southern Ocean
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
New Zealand prep
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
3 Photos
Created 3 October 2017
3 Photos
Created 1 July 2015
2 Photos
Created 24 January 2015