Taya's voyages after Patagonia

After Chilean "canales" from Puerto Montt to Puerto Williams in 2019, In 2020, Taya moves up the South Atlantic Coast, from Tierra Del Fuego to Baltimore.

Vava'u Thursday

04 October 2017
Alan/clear skies
Vava'u. 4am. Thursday 10/5
It's still yesterday for you; 11am 10/4 to be exact.
….
Yesterday, I went to a local presentation about Whangarei and Opua by some NZ people who travel her to brief cruisers! The outdoor cafe was jammed pack with couples and some kids all going to NZ. I'm not much for that kind of events usually so it was not much fun for me but I got some good info. It seems that people have formed pretty tight knit groups.

….when things don't work and the fix seems improbable, [it seems like ] Sailing is actually easier to do alone, than working on the boat is.

Neiafu is quite quaint and Vava'u has beautiful anchorages I think, but I just want to get to NZ.

Yesterday was psychologically pretty hard because nothing worked, including trying to put that SIM card to talk to you and talk to FUruno.

I think I'll just give that up, use an internet cafe, and see if I can contact Furuno like that. when you start having to fight with things in order to fight with other things, it's time to call it quits, I say.

Before I can leave I have to make the wind vane work better (adjustments and maintenance I think). Make sure I have the new Zealand charts on Maxsea to replace the chartplotter that does work.
And put the charts both on the onboard computer and my Dell because I don't completely trust either of them.
On the other hand I trusted the new furuno chart plotter and it conked out..... I have to leave on the 14th so I have another 9 days to get ready which should be plenty. I could actually leave in a couple days and I probably will if the weather window looks favorable.
Comments
Vessel Name: Taya
Vessel Make/Model: Passoa 50
Hailing Port: Dover, Delaware
Crew: Alan Cresswell and Katy Clay
Extra: Katy, author posting the blog.
Social:
Taya's Photos - Main
Fall 2019 trip from Puerto Montt to Puerto WIlliam
10 Photos
Created 6 November 2019
December 2017
1 Photo
Created 27 December 2017
Prep for the Southern Ocean
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
New Zealand prep
No Photos
Created 10 November 2017
3 Photos
Created 3 October 2017
3 Photos
Created 1 July 2015
2 Photos
Created 24 January 2015