Livin the Dream!!

25 March 2024
19 March 2024 | Tenacatita
13 March 2024
13 March 2024
03 March 2024
28 February 2024
28 February 2024
28 February 2024
28 February 2024 | day 2
13 February 2024 | LaCruz Marina
01 February 2024
01 February 2024 | San Juanico
25 January 2024
20 January 2024 | San Quintin (no not the prison!)
16 January 2024 | ensenada
13 January 2024
29 November 2023 | Back at Das Boat!

fish...whales, swells.....wind, bigger freezer?

19 January 2011
It's 1225am, my watch again....after zero sleep in the rough sea state, I 'm now on me second watch. Noon to 6pm then midnight to 6am. Dad of course doesn't have any problem sawing logs in weather....the Butthead!

We pulled up the hook for a short trip to the outer islands in Chamela Bay and dumped it back down in 15' of the clearest water this boat has ever seen in it's life! Pure sandy bottom and great holding. You could see the chain run all the way to the anchor which was dug in like a flounder waiting for its first meal. I had to finish the bottom scrape so Pops plopped in and snorkeled to the shoreline about 100 yds away. It was freaky looking down to the ripples sea floor...watching my shadow bouncing off that of Wades Aweigh's larger blanket of light....which the fish immediately took advantage of to get out of the sun.

I finished the job, came back topsides, broke out the stainless polish for the first time this season and went to town on my BBQ, the stern reel and some of the arch. When Dad got back, we switched guards, I jumped in with my spear gun and went hunting. The fish were too darn pretty in this pristine environment to waste any of them so I just looked. Man, I mean there were fish EVERYWHERE!! It was a perverbial aquarium!

After kicking back to the mother ship, I quickly showered in nice warm water and proceeded to ramp up the BBQ (new shine and all) for some Mexican hot dogs and beans....mistake L! I've had a stomach ache ever since and Dad just admitted to some acid reflex...rest are getting chummed in the morning! Was a good idea at the time we were shopping.

We headed out about 130pm to the big blue in light winds as predicted on the weather net. I'll tell you, it's now hours into a bash that was reaching 14 kts on our nose...in the ocean that makes it just a little uncomfortable, nothing stays put. So be life on the ocean for us nomads on this leg. Call a "Wambulance"!!

A few hours passed and I'm playing duck and dodge with 5 fishing boats in a fleet. Each time I adjust my course they start crowding me out more and more...give em an inch....only problem is I'm trying to make my next waypoint and it's a big ol rock. At our blistering 2 knot pace here, it's taking FOREVER to make headway and pinch off these guys. Then....of course....BZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ! FISH ON!! Dads oblivious to the world around him until I stomp on the deck right above his head and yell out...."Hey Pops!..wanna nutha TUNA?!?? He comes running up laughing at the multitasking I'm involved in but does offer a quick photo and advises we let it go as there is still some in the fridge...lucky fish. Off he went with his tail between his legs.

It's now just before dusk and I'm really starting to think about my first nap for the shift. Dads getting ready to come up and ....yeah no kidding.....BZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ, then....BZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ....no s#*t!! both rods at the same time!!!! These buggers were really spooling out fast! I'm yelling at Dad to get up on deck! "Dad, CUT THE POWER!"..WHAT??? "I SAID CUT THE POWER....HOLY CRAP THIS ONES HUGE!!!" So I begin to tighten the drag on the reel and BURN my finger the damn reel is so hot! This fish is SO big I can barely hold on to the reel...and yet have brought any line in....the drag is bottomed out and this behemoth is still ripping line off! Finally he tires a little and I get some strokes in on him just to have him take off again.....all the while Dad's reeling his in too and we are both just laughing our asses off....my back is burning....biceps screaming then the trickster decides to DIVE!!!! Beep beep beep...dive dive dive.....and down he went to Davy Jones's Locker....NO YOU DON'T!! up I reeled again now I'm really irritated! I just want to see this thing at this point and not lose it! Seems like an hour passed, then I get a glimpse...HOLY SHIT! It's a dolphin!, wait, now...is it a whale??...a shark? A monster tuna? Reel reel reel.....then like a ghost in the night, I get it up.....A 50 POUND RED SNAPPER!!! (I still maintain it was bigger, bud Dad disagrees). If you can believe this, as there are 2 monster whales breaching in front of us, 5 fishing boats....autopilot alarms screeching to notify us off course, we are pitching and rolling all over the place, dad's got his up (another red snapper only his was 30#) MAYHEM!...I reach down with one fell swoop, hook him with my right hand in the gills with the gaff while holding the rod with my left....and it's up on the side of the boat...sort of. Dad runs down for a picture and some video while I'm whimpering for his help to get the damned hooks out so I can let him go! Mission accomplished, both were set free and I have proof....hope you enjoy the story as much as I'm gonna enjoy a good nights sleep at the dock in La Cruz tonight.

Tylenol PM didn't help my back or help me to sleep....maybe a cerveza will, but not till we get off the rolling heap of an ocean later today....much later.

Ciao-
Kingfisher.
Comments
Vessel Name: wades aweigh
Vessel Make/Model: 1974 Irwin 37
Hailing Port: anacortes, wa
Crew: Captain Lawnboy!
About: Me? well, retired pseudo landscaper turned worldsailor and adventure junkieā€¦.chasing new horizons one ocean at a time
Extra: I bought the boat from mom & dad in 1999 and have been restoring her to current glory ever since. It's a work in progress. This blog is an accounting of my travels raw and uncut.
wades aweigh's Photos - Main
20 Photos
Created 3 March 2024
misc pics of the trip so far!!!
68 Photos
Created 27 December 2010
misc stuff
No Photos
Created 26 December 2009
From Everett to San Diego in 2 weeks
6 Photos
Created 23 September 2009
Thanks for taking time to look up my blog! You are now on board with the COOLEST dream EVER!!