Waiting to sail away

04 May 2015 | Lake Rathbun
29 April 2015 | Iowa
26 March 2015 | Galveston Bay
25 March 2015 | Galveston Bay
24 March 2015 | Galveston Bay
24 March 2015
24 March 2015
24 March 2015
24 March 2015
24 March 2015
22 March 2015 | Kansas City
16 March 2015 | Iowa....still
29 December 2014 | Butt cold Iowa
10 November 2014 | Iowa
28 July 2014 | Lake Rathbun
25 July 2014 | Lake Rathbun
28 June 2014 | Lake rathbun
06 April 2014 | Lake Rathbun
20 March 2014 | Iowa
27 February 2014 | Indianola, Iowa

Sailing a racer

09 August 2013 | San Diego, California
Gene/ 10 knots
We have been in San Diego for the past week visiting my mom and dad. After spending much of our time doing anything and every thing we could. We tried to experience as much of Southern California as we could.

First adventure included spearfishing off La Jolla cove, after I proposed to Amy and she accepted, thankfully. Her saying, "no thanks" would have made for a very uncomfortable vacation. Back to spearfishing. I have experience with snorkeling and scuba diving, which provided me a comfort ability and calmness in the water. Amy had neither. This was Amy's first time snorkeling and she found it quiet difficult, as well as anxiety causing. After she calmed down, and I did too, Amy and I started to learn together. She did soon become nauseated and had to go in. I went back out and saw three bass, none of which were long enough. On the way back in, kids along the beach where pointing at me yelling, "a seal, a seal, look mommy a seal". Kind of pissed me off, tell Amy told me that a seal was playing follow the leader with me.

Our next adventure was the next day when I bought my father his first surf rod here in California, and like any good son I took it to the beach to test it out. With in minutes I was catching fish. Small sea perch, but fish non the less. After, catching a half dozen or so, I decided to catch some waves with the boogie board.

The next and probably greatest adventure was the sailing of a world class racing sailboat that was built for racing in the America's cup race. USA 11 sails at the wind speed plus ten percent. We reached 11.4 knots with 10 knot winds. The boat weighed in at 50,000 lbs with 40,000 of it in the keel. USA 11 cuts through the water and you can forget the Dramamine at home. They claim that no one has ever become sea sick. This is a must do for anyone coming to San Diego.

Finally, on our last day in So. Cal my dad and I plan on going sailing together and mom with Amy are going paddle boarding on camp Pendleton. We will be heading home next tomorrow and I will be on orders for a week. When I get some time off, I will have to get Barely Awake fixed up to sail again.
Comments
Vessel Name: Clair de lune
Vessel Make/Model: 1982 25' O'Day s/v
Hailing Port: Indianola, Iowa
Crew: Amy and Gene
About: We are beginning our journey from land based people to sailors. We are starting our blog as a way to share our story (which was inspired by many other bloggers on this site) and measure our own progress.
Social:

sailors in training

Who: Amy and Gene
Port: Indianola, Iowa