Water & Wine

Sailor since the age of seven. Wine guy. Regularly wandering, wondering, exploring, and living aboard Windrunner, my Catalina 42, docked in Cabrillo Marina, San Pedro, CA.

01 February 2016 | Cabrillo Marina
09 December 2014 | Fourth of July Cove to Cabrillo Marina, San Pedro
09 December 2014 | Avalon to 4th of July Cove
09 December 2014 | Cat Harbor to Avalon, Catalina Island
06 December 2014 | Catalina Harbor, Catalina Island
06 December 2014 | Cherry Cove, Catalina Island
04 December 2014 | Cabrillo Marina
30 November 2014 | Isthmus Cove, Catalina Island
02 August 2014 | Cabrillo Marina, San Pedro
03 November 2013 | Cabrillo Marina, San Pedro, CA
05 September 2013 | Cabrillo Marina, San Pedro, CA
19 August 2013 | San Pedro, CA and west...
06 August 2013 | San Diego -> Oceanside -> San Pedro
01 August 2013 | San Diego, CA
26 July 2013 | San Diego
20 July 2013 | Nowhere, Texas
05 July 2013 | North Atlanta, GA
07 June 2013 | 30,000 feet somewhere between LA and Atlanta

The long journey to the ocean

20 July 2013 | Nowhere, Texas
Tom
Yesterday morning I left Atlanta with my daughter, headed for Blioxi, MS., the first stop on my trip to live on Windrunner in California. After nine months of simplifying, giving away, selling, and putting stuff into storage, I left town with a partially full 8' U-Haul trailer and a kayak (photo). Wow.

The days previous had been filled with a lot of tearful good-byes. Though moving to Atlanta wasn't really my idea 20 years ago, over that time, plenty of roots were put down; some of my very best friends ever were met there, church membership (even I found one!), memories, experiences, favorite places, etc. The land-locked town in the south had become home. I will miss it a lot, and many wonderful people.

The first stop was the town I called home growing up, Biloxi, to see my sister and Momma, and leave my daughter there to visit for a week. It was my daughter who pointed out the following as we were driving along the beach - Biloxi is the place I first learned how to sail, and the town from which I first made the drive to California when I was a teenager. She commented about how perfect for this to be the place from which to launch the solo part of this journey back to California to live on a sailboat. As usual, the kid is insightful and smart. I am really, really going to miss her (first visit is already planned!).

Symmetry is nice when it can happen in life. A circle closed. Time to start a new one...
Comments
Vessel Name: Windrunner
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 42
Hailing Port: Cabrillo Marina, San Pedro, CA
Crew: Tom Lynch, and whatever friends stop by to sail.
About: Skipper: Tom L. Liveaboard, single-hander, sailing guide for friends and neighbors. First mates: Mo and Michelle. Neither aboard permanently, both aboard regularly (though not enough for my taste). Crew: John and his brood, various friends, family, neighbors, etc.

Water & Wine

Who: Tom Lynch, and whatever friends stop by to sail.
Port: Cabrillo Marina, San Pedro, CA