Wild Blue Yonder

Vessel Name: Shala
Vessel Make/Model: Sceptre 41
Hailing Port: Nanaimo, B.C.
Crew: Skipper: Harry Nichols Mates: Moe Graham, Laurie Graham
About: Moe and Laurie Graham will be accompanying the boat on the first leg to mexico, departing aug 2017. both are seasoned sailors and wonderful folks.
Extra:
this blog ( and associated philosophy ) has given me cause for much reflection , discussion , and eventual compromise , for the ones i love , and i havent even made a post yet. apparently the time for fence sitting is over. welcome friends and family and loved ones. and for all you spies and [...]
13 September 2017 | ensenada, mexico
07 September 2017 | Ensenada, Mexico
23 August 2017 | off the coast of oregon
15 August 2017
13 August 2017 | ukee
10 August 2017 | uclulet
07 August 2017 | Nanaimo, BC
06 August 2017 | currently in the gulf islands on the shakedown cruise
28 July 2017 | Nanaimo, BC
Recent Blog Posts
13 September 2017 | ensenada, mexico

sittin at the dock of the bay

so i sit in paradise…a week has gone by…more…i cant remember how long ive been here. my crew left me today and suddenly the “irma” of activitiy is over. the first few days were surreal. i awoke the first morning and had to pinch myself. here i am in paradise…somehow ive managed to get my [...]

07 September 2017 | Ensenada, Mexico

Post by Moe

Post by Moe

23 August 2017 | off the coast of oregon

a day at sea

23 aug 2017

15 August 2017

Pedder Bay to Ucluelet

Post by Laurie

Please Release Me

28 July 2017 | Nanaimo, BC
Laurie
Post by Laurie:

For many years Harry has held the dream of freeing himself from the constraints of land and sailing the seven seas, or at least as many of them as he can. The first step to accomplishing his dream was the purchase of the right vessel. After interviewing a number of boats, he settled on a beautiful Sceptre named Shala and brought her to her new berth at The Palms Marina in Nanaimo, BC.

This is where we, Laurie and Moe, met Harry. Shortly after meeting Harry, Moe lent him "The Annapolis Book of Seamanship" which Harry quickly devoured. Over the years, Moe and I have watched Harry transform Shala from a very pretty coastal cruiser to a stunning offshore ready queen of the sea. Over time we have come to know Harry as a determined and highly particular person. We've watched him progress from newbie sailor to an accomplished singled handed sailor who is capable of proactive actions as well as calmly handling those hair raising moments when disaster seems imminent. We've seen how diligent he is with preparing his vessel. Nothing is done by half. He researches and thinks of everything.
It is this knowledge of Harry that led us to say yes when he proposed that Moe and I join him as crew on the first leg of his journey to the Baja peninsula in Mexico.

It was never my dream, this sailing offshore to new countries. It didn't even come close to making the bucket list. Moreover, although I have sailed for many years and circumnavigated Vancouver Island, the thought of offshore sailing is downright scary! But it is Harry's dream and it is on Moe's bucket list. Why would I agree to crew on this venture, you might ask. I, too, had to ask myself that question. What was I thinking when I agreed to this madness! First, I want to share in the fulfillment of my husband's dreams. Second, after having agreed to go, I won't let Harry and Moe down. Third, I consider myself a non-quitter in this type of venture. Fourth, I think facing my fears will make me a stronger and wiser woman. "Do the thing you fear and the death of fear is certain." Ralph Waldo Emerson.

I would like to list the myriad things that Harry has accomplished to get Shala to her current offshore ready condition, but I was not present during the work nor could I do justice to the endless hours of conceiving, planning and executing all the work that he has put into his beloved vessel. I leave that part to Harry to share. What I can tell you is what I have done to prepare myself for this epic adventure, for which I began relatively ignorant.

And that, my friends, is my next post...
Comments
Shala's Photos - Main
9 Photos
Created 10 September 2017
A few photos from the journey
19 Photos
Created 5 September 2017

About & Links

Photo Albums
10 September 2017
9 Photos
05 September 2017
19 Photos