South for the Winter

Rucker Family Boating in the Keys

02 January 2007 | Key Largo
27 December 2006 | Key Largo
26 November 2006 | Key Largo
25 November 2006 | Key West
24 November 2006 | Naples
23 November 2006 | Clearwater
18 November 2006 | Clearwater
17 November 2006 | Carrabelle
16 November 2006 | Panama City Marina
15 November 2006 | Dog River
13 November 2006 | Dog River Mobile Bay
12 November 2006 | On the Black Warrior River
11 November 2006 | On the Tombigbee Mile 366.3
10 November 2006 | Same as yesterday
09 November 2006 | Aqua Harbor Marina
08 November 2006 | Green Turtle Bay
07 November 2006 | Upper Mississippi Mile 1.3
06 November 2006 | Kaskaskia River Lock
23 October 2006 | Grafton
05 August 2006 | Chicago, IL

Day 12

17 November 2006 | Carrabelle
JR/60s Sun
Good run today. We left at a very comfortable time and arrived in Carrabelle mid afternoon. I captured this picture of C-Horse and Daddy this morning at Panama Cit Marina. Just before we pushed off a couple of divers came down to work on the boat in front of us. They were there to scrub the bottom and check the zinc anodes (ground plates). Turns out most salt water boats have this done every month or so. One of the reasons for taking the boat down here is to dive off the back with my boys. We have our dive gear onboard ready to go I wanted to get in and help him! The water temp here is 68 not too warm but warm enough for a short dive.

The run today was mostly through long cuts that look just like smaller versions of the rivers we run back home. We were lucky and didn't meet any tow traffic just a few fishing boats. Howard led today and got us here safe and sound! Once we got both boats fueled and tied up for the evening I decided to do a little diving. I jumped in with my mask and wetsuit to check the props besides seeing the diver this morning was driving me crazy. It's a good thing I did. As I was checking our starboard prop I found that the nut holding the prop was loose enough to turn by hand. That is not good, last thing we want tomorrow is a prop falling off or vibrating. Charlene helped me put my full scuba gear on and I jumped back in with a big wrench and a board she found to jam in the propeller to hold it still while I tightened the nut. It seemed to tighten up good and I think we will be fine tomorrow. Glad I decided to go for a swim! As I was getting out I noticed a few people watching me from across the marina I didn't think anything of it� Well as we were riding to dinner with JR from the marina he asked me if I was the diver behind the boat and I said yes. He said he was getting ready to come over and tell me to get out because of the gators that feed in the marina during late afternoon. I looked at him and said you're kidding right? "No sir, there is a large storm drain just in front of your boat they use to get into the harbor". Turns out 3 gators feed on ducks and other birds in the harbor most evenings. Good thing I didn't know that before I jumped in!!

Tomorrow is our big run across the gulf we will be 35 miles offshore weather is going to perfect and we are going for it!! We plan on leaving around 6am and should get to Clearwater mid afternoon.
Comments
Vessel Name: Whos Your Daddy
Vessel Make/Model: SeaRay 48 Sundancer
Hailing Port: Grafton, IL
Crew: John Rucker
About: Charlene Rucker, Nathan Rucker, Brad Rucker