Why Knot Now?

It all began as a dream.....became a plan.....then, a reality. Our dream was destroyed! .....We're starting over! .....Now follow us aboard S/V SeaQuell

07 November 2019
06 November 2019
06 November 2019
05 November 2019
04 November 2019
04 November 2019
17 May 2019
07 April 2018 | Bath, NC
04 November 2017
04 November 2017
09 October 2017 | Bath,NC
07 October 2017 | Belhaven,NC
06 October 2017 | Columbia,NC
05 October 2017 | Edenton,NC
05 October 2017 | Edenton,NC
05 October 2017 | Elizabeth City,NC
04 October 2017 | Mariner's Wharf, Elizabeth City,NC
04 October 2017 | Elizabeth City, NC

Mother, Mother Ocean

30 October 2016
Becky
Saturday, October 29,2016After breakfast of coffee, granola, and yogurt, Robert begins work on some small boat projects.
He repairs the latch on the cockpit door, puts grommets/snaps in our boarding rug, and sorts thru some paperwork. I read. Maggie sleeps!
It's beautiful today. Warm,sunny, but very light wind. Waves less than 3 feet with a 9 second period. Sweet!!
I trade my jeans and sweatshirt for shorts and a sleeveless top. YES!!!!Mid morning we see a lone dolphin. It's huge!! It plays alongside SeaQuell for about 10 minutes. What a beautiful creature!!
Lunch is cheese, crackers, prosciutto, and cut up veggies with dip. Boiled eggs are the side dish!!
After lunch, I reorganize the fridge and freezer while Robert works on rigging a preventer on the jib. We do a little housekeeping too. Maggie sleeps!!
We pass the afternoon reading/chatting/listening to some tunes.
We picked up a hitchhiker---- a tiny sparrow is feasting on our abundant spider population. He rides with us for several hours!!
Maggie walks out to the trampoline and pees! She's getting acclimated to the "migration" way of life again.
The sunset is phenomenal!!!!!
Dinner is sloppy joe and Connie's homemade potato salad-- thanks for the care package sis!!
After dinner, we snuggle in the cockpit and watch a movie on the IPad.
Robert takes the first watch again tonight. I sleep from 10-2, but when I come up for my watch, we're at the Charleston Inlet, so he stays in the cockpit with me until we clear it.
My watch is very quiet. The seas are almost flat. Virtually no wind. The sky is filled with stars!! I marvel at the beauty of mother ocean for quite some time, and return to reading around 4 am.
The sun rises around 7--- it's breathtakingly beautiful, but I let Robert sleep through it. I sit with my coffee, my best girl Maggie, and watch my hubby snore away!!
What a wonderful way to start another day!
Comments
Vessel Name: SeaQuell
Vessel Make/Model: Manta 40
Hailing Port: Bath, NC
Crew: Captain Robert, Admiral Becky & Maggie the Wonder Dog!
Home Page: http://www.sailblogs.com/member/whyknotnow
Social:

Who are we?

Who: Captain Robert, Admiral Becky & Maggie the Wonder Dog!
Port: Bath, NC