more out of life

30 September 2011 | Bradenton, Florida
14 September 2011 | Bradenton, Florida
13 September 2011 | Bradenton, Florida
12 September 2011 | Bradenton, Florida
13 October 2010 | still oklahoma :(
13 April 2010 | Oklahoma
12 April 2010 | Oklahoma

feeling it getting closer!

13 October 2010 | still oklahoma :(
Christy
well... It's been awhile... but the good news is it's been because we have been busy pushing ahead with plans! Sold the house, paid in cash for our 30 footer... and are renting so we can leave when the time is right! As for all of the questions about our finances, children's lives, ectera... of course we've discussed this at LENGTH... with our kids, each other, families... no we do not have all of the answers. That's what the next few years are about. Finding as much of them as possible. Hopefully through others that are doing it.

We may hate it, we may love it, but if we never try it... we'll be living with a longing of something we have always wanted to do. I am a nurse... I have just obtained my Florida nursing license (wahoo!) which means, when we move to florida and costal cruise for a bit... I am still saving money. We can use that time to learn more about blue water sailing and living aboard. Practicing for passages and getting the kids used to the sea. If we hate it... what are we out? We've still gained a valuable experience and paid off our debt gaining us a great financial advance on most people our age.

If we love it.... :) then we go while the kids can enjoy it and we are still able bodied. We also plan on leaving with another famlily with kids our kids ages. The wife is also a nurse, we've known them for several years now and are comfortable with learning from one another on our journey. I truly believe anyone who starts this, without being raised in it, has no clue what to do and how to do it. I want my kids to know with enough hard work, determination, preperation, and hope they can do anything in life, no matter how others think of it. If that's all I accomplish with this, then I have done a great job with my kids and my life.

Back to the fun stuff! We plan to move to the boat in May... that part's kind of scary. I'm afraid we'll get sick of it before we leave... but...it will shoot our plans into high gear financially, and we'll learn alot about storage, cooking, living arangements, what we'll need, what we won't... etc.. so.. here we go :)

Hey... does anyone out there use k-12 for their schooling? thinking about enrolling next year. If you do use it or something else, could you give me some input? thanks!
Comments
Vessel Name: Ascension
Vessel Make/Model: 1981 King's Ledgend 41'
Hailing Port: Bradenton, Florida
Crew: Jason, Christy, Kaleigh, and Camri
About:
My husband Jason and I have been married 6 years this July. We have two daughters Kaleigh, 11, and Camri 4. We are very excited to embark on a journey of full time cruising. My husband does sleep studies and I am a NICU nurse. Kaleigh is a great student and loves cheerleading. [...]
Extra: We have just sold our 23' Irwin and are in the process of buying a 30' Islander. Our friends are attempting to leave in 3 years to become full time cruisers and we want to go too! So we have also just sold our house and doing all the research possible to make it come true!

Who: Jason, Christy, Kaleigh, and Camri
Port: Bradenton, Florida