Letters from a yacht

03 July 2012
16 June 2012 | lobby lounge restaurant
13 June 2012 | villelongue
09 June 2012 | xx
01 June 2012
28 May 2012 | Xx
27 May 2012 | xx
25 May 2012 | x
25 May 2012 | villelongue
25 May 2012 | xx
25 May 2012 | villelongue
24 May 2012 | kitchen
23 May 2012 | McDo
23 May 2012 | McDo
22 May 2012 | my warm bed
21 May 2012 |
21 May 2012 | McDo
19 May 2012 | Chateau Villelongue
17 May 2012 | x
13 May 2012 | St Marie

into the Med!

23 May 2012 | McDo
Sherryl
what a day! Luckily, I had a good talk to myself, before I went to sleep last night and decided that today was a day that I was going to get things done!! No more sitting in bed in my pj's reading and writing and listening to the Tramontane bash our little house left and right!! I made a list. Ok, I would get up, make tea, allow myself a few pages in my bed with a second cup of tea, but then, up!! Shower, dress and start the day. Draw money. Fill my trusty little stead with gazoile and then head off to zone technique and check that all is well with chez patricks berth. Then of course, head here to McDo for a double latte and catch up with my comms, using the wonderful wifi here. I was fresh out of the shower, hair dripping wet when I heard severe bashing coming from our courtyard gate side!! Feigning avoidanosa seriousa, I dressed, only to hear the bashing escalating in volume..without T here, I had to go and investigate myself. Yes, you've guessed it. I operate very well, behind somebody else's back!! Well, I went downstairs only to find to very red faced men, chopping away at the cement, next to my water meter. The day we arrived from Paris (30/4) we discovered that the icy February weather, had exploded our water meter and so we had no running water in the house!! If we turned the outside water on, to get water inside the house, a fountain shot up, hitting you square in the head and then proceeded to flood the courtyard and then create a mini river down Rue de Paris. Much to my neighbours non-amusement. Here, every Madame sweeps her house front proudly, each day. Not even tolerating a stray leaf. I like that though, so.... We switched the water off. Consulted our neighbours husband, M. JJ and trusted he would arrange a plumber for the next morning. That was almost a month ago. The plumber duly arrived, only to tell us, it was a job for the mairie. Kindly arranging this for us, a service provider arrived that afternoon. He fixed the fountain and changed the meter but a leak still existed. Water here, is more expensive than wine, and so he assured me 1: that the leak existed, before the meter, and so we wouldn't be paying for it and 2: that a colleague would be along "shortly" to chop up the cement, replace the faulty pipe and repair the hole:-))!! Well, this happened this morning. Part three, repairing the hole, is scheduled for 14:30 this afternoon. On verra:-)) Plus, as the taller of the two laid eyes on me, he immediately asked for "un petit cafe" s'il vous plait:-)) two nespressos later, he was chopping up a storm. I fled upstairs, to finish my toilette and then head to the ATM to draw money. Wondering while I was walking up the street, whether there would be any money in the machine. You know with the eurozone crise and all and us being very close to the Spanish border. Well, I got to the ATM, only to be told by a lady, that " il est mort" what?? I looked left, only to see an exquisite little dog, still with his gorgeous little harness on, lying dead!!!:-((( she showed me where the blood was still fresh, red on the tar!!! With that, I turned away and ran home. Shoot!!! People who are cruel to animals are destined to a seriously bad time in the here after!!!! I know that for sure!!! Shocked and saddened, I grabbed my bag and headed to St Marie, to put in gazoile. Ok, sorry!!! Just got Paddy on Skype. So will continue soon A la prochaine Xx
Comments
Vessel Name: chez patrick
Vessel Make/Model: Leopard 46
Hailing Port: Cape Town
Crew: Patrick, Sherryl & Gareth
About: Husband, wife and son team

Who: Patrick, Sherryl & Gareth
Port: Cape Town