Yolo - Bermuda

20 March 2017 | Belmont estates where the coco beans are dried
11 March 2017 | Tyrell Bay, Carriacou
11 March 2017
03 March 2017
26 February 2017
22 February 2017 | Sunset from Happy Island
19 February 2017 | Tyrell Bay, Carriacou
17 February 2017 | St George's Grenada
12 January 2017
04 January 2017
29 December 2016
22 December 2016

Tyrell Bay, Carriacou

19 February 2017 | Tyrell Bay, Carriacou
We got to bed early, thinking we would start at 5.00 to Martinique. However our sleep was constantly interrupted by the mooring ball hitting the side of the boat, we were up by 3.30am and under way by 4.00am. The winds were light as we were in the lee, and we had a little light from the moon. We motered 5.0kts until daylight when Dirk put up the sails and increased our speed to 5.5-6.0kts. The winds increased to 18-22kts, with 3-4.5 waves, by 9.00am, almost on the nose, However, I was unable to enjoy it as I became very seasick. Finally at 12.00 we decided to abort our trip to Martinique and tuck in to Carriacou, as our sailing is fun and clearly I was not going to be able to stand watch later. We dropped anchor in Tyrell Bay about 1.00, 47 miles from where we started. Dirk ran in and handled Customs, then we spent the rest of the afternoon recouperating from the trip. I'm feeling better today but not 100% so we are having a quite day on the boat.

The seasickness really took me by surprise. I haven't been seasick in years, and even when I was it was never this bad, except when I was dismasted. So I was totally unprepared, no medication!! My only explanation is my cold, has affected my ears causing the increased sensitivity to motion sickness. I was disappointed but Dirk pointed out we are supposed to be having fun, not endure hardship. We had dinner and then turned in early.

The plan at the moment is to go to union island, which is very close, tomorrow and check in there. Union Island part of St Vincent and the Grenadines. Check the link "where's Sue" to see If we got there.
Comments
Vessel Name: svyolo
Vessel Make/Model: Freedom 32
Hailing Port: Bermuda