Cruising with Zelda

Vessel Name: Zelda Fitzgerald
26 July 2012 | Reno, NV
05 July 2012 | South San Francisco
04 July 2012 | Moss Landing, CA
30 June 2012 | Oyster Cove Marina, South San Francisco
Recent Blog Posts
26 July 2012 | Reno, NV

Getting rid of STUFF!

For the past year I have been spending my work week in Nevada. This week I am closing up the apt and changing my job. This has been very emotional and upsetting to be without a job, but I know this is the right decision. Long distant relationships just do not work, whether you are married or not. Since [...]

05 July 2012 | South San Francisco

In port

Zelda has been home now since Fathers' Day. We are slowly going through her systems so we can move on. We have a lot to do and we are discovering more and more as we go on. First things on the list are toilets that actually dump into a holding tank, electricity, refrigeration, and a new mattress ( just [...]

04 July 2012 | Moss Landing, CA

2nd attempt at getting to San Francisco

The following weekend, Laurence and Pieter get in and we head off to pick them up in Sausalito. SO, another 3 hour drive to Moss Landing. We arrive in Moss Landing and saunter down to the dock. The smell of propane is in the air, STRONG. As we get closer to the boat it becomes really evident that the [...]

30 June 2012 | Oyster Cove Marina, South San Francisco

In the beginning...

We have had quite a trial finding the right boat. We lost $10K to the supposed owner of one boat (suing in small claims court). BUT we have finally purchased the last boat we will ever own. Her name is GOING to be the Zelda Fitzgerald, after my grandmother (not be confused with F Scott's wife). Her current [...]

Getting rid of STUFF!

26 July 2012 | Reno, NV
Gale Schulke
For the past year I have been spending my work week in Nevada. This week I am closing up the apt and changing my job. This has been very emotional and upsetting to be without a job, but I know this is the right decision. Long distant relationships just do not work, whether you are married or not. Since I love my husband, the choice was simple...move back to San Francisco and the boat full time.
Anyway the focus of this blog is getting rid of stuff!!! If you have never had to close an apt AND a 5 bedroom house...to move onto a 43 foot boat...well, ...
so I am packing up a 1 bedroom apt. Should not be a problem, right?? WRONG. It is truly amazing how much you can acquire in 1 year. So, I am having an apt sale on Saturday to sell as much as I can of the stuff I have here. I really do not want to take them back to California. I mean how many towels does it take to shower on a boat? 2, well, maybe 4, so you have a clean towel between laundry loads. One certainly does not need 6-8 SETS of towels. that was easy. Now what about the kitchen stuff. When was the last time I used a kitchen gadget shaped like a bird. I think it might be a lemon squeezer, but not sure. I have no less than 4 splatter guards, more spatulas than the grocery store, and a set of china that feeds 16. I do not see banquets in my future, so the china goes...to my brother. He can feed 16 people if he wants to!!!
Now my husband has this fantastic couch...made out of drift wood. The thing is massive. I am not sure who we are going to find to take THAT off our hands! LOL... Obviously one does NOT need furniture on a boat!
Now the true crisis is our books. My husband and I could open a lending library with all the books we own...and neither one of us wants to get rid of any of them! I do not mean a couple of shelves. I am talking a library worth of books, some of whom are over 100 years old. Books do not do well on a boat, what with the issue of water vs paper. So far, our only solution is to pack them and store them. We are at an impass on this one.
Comments

About & Links