4malones

30 August 2010 | Seattle, WA
30 July 2010 | Seattle
28 June 2010 | Friday Harbor, WA
27 June 2010
25 June 2010 | Friday Harbor, WA
24 June 2010 | Off Washington
22 June 2010 | Off Washington
18 June 2010 | Northern Pacific
14 June 2010 | Northern Pacific
10 June 2010 | North of Hawaii
05 June 2010 | North of Hawaii
02 June 2010 | North of the Equator
28 May 2010 | North of the Equator
26 May 2010 | North of the Equator
22 May 2010 | North of the Equator
18 May 2010 | South of the Equator
13 May 2010 | Southern Pacific Ocean
11 May 2010 | Southern Pacific Ocean
10 May 2010 | Southern Pacific Ocean
10 May 2010 | Southern Pacific Ocean

Picnic Weather

10 June 2010 | North of Hawaii
Scott
The weather is changing and I am trying to squeeze in an update while I can still rave about how nice it is out here.

If you take friends out for a picnic on the boat this is the weather you would order. The last week has been unbelievable, I have never seen conditions remain this steady for so long on the ocean. Of course to be picky, it has been consistently light for way too darn long but flat as a lake, sunny, sunny, sunny, with warm gentle breeze. I am lovin' on Whisper, she sails like a dream in light air. The wind has hovered around 5 knots sometimes a bit more or bit less for nearly a week and we just keep ghosting along at 3 to 3.5 knots, posting 75 miles a day like clockwork. Slower than molasses but so comfortable, I forget where I am and that I am still sailing.

I am crossing into a new weather pattern tonight. There is a large high pressure system that is forming with predicted strongish wind on the bow, rotating around to the east and then dying again. The strategic decision is how far west to sail in search of better wind. I can opt to travel a much longer distance to reach faster conditions or hope that the high moves off to the east and I am able to punch though the lighter winds above me.

Last night was my culinary high point with several firsts for the voyage. I caught a beautiful little Mahi Mahi just in time for dinner and went all out. Breakout behavior: I cooked in more than one pot. I dined on a plate not out of a bowl. I even ate with a fork (and not just to reach the bottom of the can). It was so calm I put the plate down while dinner and utensils actually stayed on the plate. Dessert was NZ chocolate, what a treat!

Slow and steady, but getting impatient to see Mary and boys.
Comments
Vessel Name: Whisper
Vessel Make/Model: Tartan 37
Hailing Port: Seattle
Crew: Scott, Mary, Timothy and Finn

Who: Scott, Mary, Timothy and Finn
Port: Seattle