About Time - on the Chesapeake

22 September 2008 | Havre de Grace, MD
29 August 2008
01 August 2008 | Havre de Grace, MD
11 July 2008 | Havre de Grace, MD
23 June 2008 | Havre de Grace, MD
09 June 2008 | Havre de Grace,MD
23 January 2008 | Baltimore,MD

ASA 101

09 June 2008 | Havre de Grace,MD
6/9-6/11

ASA 101 @ BaySail in Havre de Grace, MD

Well day one of class. It has been quite cool recently so I was wondering whether the weather would warm up. It did! Oh and the wind went away too.

It was the hottest day of the season yet 97 degrees with maybe a 2-3knt breeze. It was HOT! But we made due.

The facility is nice. The instructor was great and the staff is quite friendly. This school was close to home so I commuted there for the three days.

It was a great time with plenty of time on the boat to gain experience.

This was a 3 day course running during the week. I highly reccommend reading at least the 'Intro to Sailing' information which helps the novice greatly with terms and points of sail. Then if you have the time 'Sailing for Dummies' is pretty good and compliments the booklet.

The sailing time was good, the exam was straight forward and our instructor prepared us well for it. (I will perfect the hitch!!! I can't let our instructor down) Having not had any formal sailing experience before I passed with no problems.

Overall a great experience for me and I got to meet some really nice people in the class and learned a lot of interesting things about Havre de Grace and about the Skipjack 'Martha Lewis' that is docked there over the summer.
Comments
Vessel Name: About Time
Hailing Port: York,PA
Crew: The Family...
About: Me, my wife, and our three children (4,6,14)
Extra: Sailing on the bay!!!

About US

Who: The Family...
Port: York,PA