Flight of Aghavni

a Topjian family traveling journey

No sleep till Charleston!

Writing this from Charleston. I thought it was warm in the south! Supposed to be 37 tonight and under 49 all day tomorrow! Had a very fun trip from DC today. Special thank you to Mimi for helping out last night, Larnie for the ride this morning, and Bobby for a bag of trash! Final work stuff at 7, left the house at 8, and on the train at 10 headed southbound. We had a great time on the train with 3 Racks to do (random acts of Christmas kindness) which our lovely MamaBear had all planned out. Spreading joy and cheer on the train in the form of "love letter" bombs and candy canes with scriptural encouragements, the time flew by and at 8pm we were here. Took a cab to the marina and did a quick unpack and systems check. Oil levels good, bilge counter at 0, engine hours the same as when I left, installed the new bulb for rear exterior nav light, organized the spares I brought, etc. I'll have to walk the exterior tomorrow as it was dark upon arrival. Keri put kids to bed and I walked with the dockcart to Harris Teeter for a perishable food shop. We knew exactly what to get as we had made a full inventory and list of necessities last month. So, all loaded up, kids tucked in, and planning to start our journey tomorrow!

Also, connected with Chris this morning to discuss weather and strategy again and our decision to move the date up has paid off. We charged entry and exit points on Gulf Stream (about 80 miles out from current position) so we should be there tomorrow early evening, assuming 7 knots per hour.

My secret wish is that my son catches a fish bigger than himself, but really I'll be happy with anything that bites on the line! We don't have a great track record for fishing off the boat...

Generally, I feel good and plan to get a good nights sleep. But, in all honesty, the weight of responsibility for the family does add a level of reality to this adventure. It feels much different tonight-compared to when I am racing offshore or when I delivered this boat with Miguel/Doug or Jeff/Erik. I look forward to whatever tomorrow brings as I feel that there is not much else we can do to prepare, and that is a good feeling. It does not happen by chance, but by prudent planning and knowing when to advance, and when to retreat. My prayer is that we enjoy this trip together as a family with love, encouragement, and joy!


Comments