Flight of Aghavni

a Topjian family traveling journey

Hose Clamps

"This part isn't in the magazines"

I find myself repeating that phrase over and over this week as I slowly but surely tackle the necessary but highly unsexy jobs of maintaining a yacht.

As discussed in previous posts, it's all about PM: Preventative Maintenance (well, as much as reasonably possible).

So, staring from the bow and ending at the stern, today I opened each compartment and tightened every single hose clamp on the boat. Took about 3 hours to complete, but each one needed a bit more pressure, so glad I got this checked off the list. This bunch actually broke as I began to tighten then.

This will help with hoses (salt water, fresh water, diesel, antifreeze, oil, grey/black water) from coming off while under way or naturally at the most inopportune time.

Now, pass me that magazine with snapshots of champagne and sailing into the sunset...


Comments