Flight of Aghavni

a Topjian family traveling journey

Last Goodbye...

What an amazing journey we have been on and our cherished Aghavni has been the vessel for which all these travels were possible. Yes, we have taken care of her, but she has taken care of us.

After finishing a few weeks of transitioning all our gear to the new boat at the marina, I was joined by "A few good men" from Auckland and we sailed Aghavni overnight down the NZ coast to Gulf Harbor for the new owner. This is the parting shot as I stepped off her hull for the last time.

So many memories but I find myself remembering the first few weeks of our ownership:

I remember the day I walked down the dock in Newport and saw her for the first time as Ariel and I knew that she was to be our boat. I remember feeling completely overwhelmed at the learning curve jumping up from Margalo (our Catalina 30). I remember when mamabear and kids clamored aboard for the first time and claimed their berths. I remember our great first trip down with Doug and Miguel and my solo arrival at the dock in Easton.

And then my mind wanders to the many magical moments we have shared as a family unit--from the first overnight "trip" at our home dock to first offshore adventure to New England, landfall in Bermuda, and the millions of moments from then until reaching the distant shores of New Zealand!

Who would have known back then that we would be blessed to enjoy our world in this way? We are grateful.

Before we left, our family had a lovely moment on board together to celebrate and remember this beautiful boat and the time we shared on her sailing more than 20,000 miles over the past 5 or so years.

Thank you all for your prayers and we'll wishes. And thank you, Lord, for safe passages and travels as we humbly enjoy Your amazing creation.


Comments