Ahoy there!

04 July 2011
30 June 2011

My boat, my rules

30 June 2011
One thing I love about sailing is the freedom it brings. Not being confined to set timetabels ans schedules, but instead making your own journey, go where ever you want when you want. With that comes also the freedom to be yourself on your boat, there are no other tourists looking at you, you can wear what you want and do what you want.

But that is not to say that I just like to lounge around my boat in my old sweats and Converse shoes full of holes. Of course that´s nice at times, just totally relaxing and not giving a hoot about what your wearing, but I also like to dress up at times and visiting ports gives a perfect opportunity for that. That´s when I take out my fancy red shoes and my black suit and the missus puts her face on and wears her favourite cocktail dress.

That´s just the thing, sailing gives the opportunity to do both! While on sea there´s not really anyone around so you don´t have to worry about others but then if you want you can go out, meet people and put on your Sunday best. I remember one time when sailing on the Caribbean, we had been at sea for about a week when we came to St. Barts (popular playing ground of the rich and famous) and after living for a week in my old shorts and a T-shirt we changed into our night on the town clothes. That was so much fun to go from one extreme to the other.
Vessel Name: Matilda