North to Adventure

Vessel Name: Aka Aka
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina
Hailing Port: Bunbury, Western Australia
Crew: Terry & Bon
About: Description: Dubious
07 December 2017 | Geraldton Western Australia
25 November 2017 | Geraldton
06 November 2017 | Carnarvon Western Australia
23 October 2017 | Exmouth Western Australia
09 October 2017 | Exmouth Western Australia
25 September 2017 | Exmouth Western Australia
13 September 2017 | Exmouth Western Australia
07 September 2017 | Exmouth Western Australia
03 September 2017
31 August 2017 | Carnarvon Western Australia
18 August 2017 | Freemantle Sailing Club Western Australia
07 August 2017 | Bunbury Western Australia
Recent Blog Posts
07 December 2017 | Geraldton Western Australia

Leaving Geraldton.....

Tuesday 5th December - Our number 2 grandchild, Ava Lauren O'Connor's 12th birthday.

25 November 2017 | Geraldton

Heading South....SLOWLY!

Hi Today is Sunday 26th November This begins with a continuation of the last one...6th November

06 November 2017 | Carnarvon Western Australia

First leg south....

Sunday night 5 November

23 October 2017 | Exmouth Western Australia

One. Day. At. A. Time.......

Friday, 20 October 2017

09 October 2017 | Exmouth Western Australia

Drifting along......

Sunday 1 October 2017

25 September 2017 | Exmouth Western Australia

Rudderless........

One. Day. At. A. Time.......

23 October 2017 | Exmouth Western Australia
Friday, 20 October 2017
Today is my mama’s 87th birthday! Wow! Good on ya mom! You are a star. To mark the day, the weather is very hot and humid without much breeze. I am going crazy with my extra body heat on top of it - which makes me a firm believer in internal combustion causing the body to overheat, burn and end up in a pile of ashes. We rode to town earlier than usual to avoid high heat. We got a wonderful letter from our number 7 grandchild, Levi. He is 6 and just a DARLING boy. So thoughtful as well as clever. He used a different coloured pen for each paragraph – it sings with colour! And to top it off, there was a wonderful large picture of an ice-cream cone with rainbow colours just like the ice cream he had at the Bull & Barrel festival in Dardanup earlier in the month. He drew it to show us what it looked like. They stayed at our house to save driving etc. which made us miss them that much more!

Sunday, 22 October 2017
Last night we went for a ride (wearing our head lights) since it was a magnificent clear, cool evening. Terry showed me something I had never seen before. When you shine a light onto the sand up here, you can see little diamond-like lights sparkling all over the sand.......those sparkles are the EYES of little fawny coloured spider!!!!!! Yes! I said SPIDERS! The body (including legs) are only about the size of my fingernail. Surprising since the light their eyes omit is so very bright! While he was showing me this.....my headlamp shone on a huge - H.U.G.E. black spider nearby. As we were discussing what type of spider it was; admiring at just how big he was (without being a tarantula) and what he was doing, blah blah blah...HE DISAPPEARED!!! INTO THIN AIR! It was SO EERIE! Poof! Gone! Then Terry found the little entry to his hole he’d escaped down. After getting a thin blade of grass, he put it slowly down the hole and all of a sudden this “door” came across the top of the hole! It was the infamous black, trap-door spider! Thank goodness we didn’t see any others since I was beginning to feel creeped out! After such a hot and humid day, the cool night air was lovely – a beautiful evening indeed.

A few days ago, we were in town (on one of our routine bike rides) and I felt like buying some cinnamon to put on my oatmeal in the mornings. You KNOW things are getting bad when buying cinnamon is so exciting! Now, I must mention that I am a very lucky woman because my dear Terry delivers coffee to me in bed every morning, then after that, oats for breakfast with the desired 10 or so almonds lovingly tossed in. We sit in bed, drink our cuppas, then eat our porridge while watching the news to start our day. ANYway, the morning after my cinnamon purchase Terry asks if I’d like some on my oats. “Oh yes please..... just a few good sprinkles” He had to ask where it was but ended up finding it. He sat down next to me and we were silently listening to the news while stirring and munching on our oats. He asked if the cinnamon was nice and I said “well it tastes different to the cinnamon I get at home but I am sure I will get used to it...” Each bite I was in a cloud of confusion – I said to Terry that “I get a Dutch brand at home so that could be why the difference in taste” Some time later I said “I recognise this taste but I don’t think it is cinnamon” and then “this is very strange but it reminds me of an Indian dish” I couldn’t finish it but ate the majority. About 20 minutes later Terry broke into peels of laughter! He hadn’t had his glasses on when he’d made us brekkie, so sprinkled cumin on my oats!!! He said he saw “min” and assumed..... Man did we laugh! Why I didn’t question it right away I will never know! Sorry Exmouth! I thought your cinnamon was so inferior! Haaaahaaaaa

Tomorrow or the next day we are hiring a car again so we can go back to (Jurabi Turtle Centre) at night to see where three different, threatened species of turtles nest. They always come to the same place every year to nest and lay their eggs. I will write more on this subject after we have been there.

It looks like the rudder will be finished and up here by the end of this week. Hooray! Then we will have to get a couple of divers to put it back in. Will update soon.
Comments
Aka Aka's Photos - Main
No Photos
Created 18 August 2017
No Photos
Created 17 August 2017
No Photos
Created 15 August 2017

About & Links