Sailing on Paradise

21 May 2015 | Gumusluk
01 May 2015 | Marmaris Yacht Marina
30 April 2015 | Marmaris Yacht Marina
28 February 2015 | Marmaris
21 September 2014 | Kos
23 August 2014 | Sifnos, Greece
23 August 2014 | Kiperissiri
06 July 2014 | Cephalonia
08 June 2014 | Corfu
22 May 2014 | Kassiopi, Corfu
10 May 2014 | Taormina, Sicily
10 May 2014 | Vulcano, The Aeolian Islands
05 May 2014 | Palermo
01 May 2014 | Arenella near Palermo
25 April 2014 | San Vito lo Capo

Back on board

23 August 2014 | Kiperissiri
Ness - this is late!
After 2 weeks of spending precious time with my lovely family in the UK, I am now back on board Paradise. I enjoyed my time with my family even though much of it was spent taking my father to various hospitals and doctors, as he has been quite unwell the last few months. Thankfully he is improving now and I wish him a full recovery very soon. Jennifer, my daughter managed somehow to get nearly the whole 2 weeks off (not an easy feat in her position) and my son James was staying nearby so it was lovely that they were able to support me in these visits and we did have many other happy family times together, sharing meals, visiting garden centres etc. Luke, Jennifer’s partner was also able to share some of these times with us. My Mum has been coping fantastically during Dad’s illness despite her disabilities and I am very proud of her. It was very pleasurable that we still managed to do some Mother/ daughter things together, so often so few opportunities to do this. Paul and I love our life aboard Paradise, the only down side is how much I miss my family and friends particularly when they are going through difficult times.
One day was put firmly aside for a day trip to London with Jennifer, Nathan and Macaulay. Mac drove us there and we had a super time. Some money was spent, plenty of food was consumed and many laughs were had. A great day!
Rich, Oz and Neil have done a sterling job crewing for Paul in my absence and they have all enjoyed plenty of relaxing time whilst they cruised along the beautiful Peloponnisos. I understand that all three of the guys were kept busy, Rich manning the navigation on his Ipad, Oz sorting out our troublesome steering and Neil bringing our herbs back to life. From the accounts Paul has given me it seems as if drinking large amounts of alcohol was high on the favourite activity list and the brief time I saw Neil and Oz on the evening before they departed equipped me with enough evidence that this was indeed true! Seriously though, I am truly grateful to you guys for enabling me to visit my family and I am pleased you enjoyed your time aboard Paradise. I know Paul nagged you a little about water and electricity usage but that’s just part of the course in the world of sailing (don’t worry guys I won’t mention the blocking of one toilet with kitchen paper incident.......).
I am pleased that all went well in my absence but pleased that Paul missed me and welcomed me back on board with open arms. Well, even if it does only last a few days before he is tearing his hair out because of my ‘dizzy’ temperament! Watch this space ..........
Comments
Vessel Name: Paradise
Vessel Make/Model: Aldabra
Hailing Port: Dartmouth
Crew: Paul Doolan and Vanessa Collett
About:
Hi! We, (Paul and Ness) are soon setting off to sail around the world. We sail Paradise, a 60ft Catamaran which we purchased from Italy in 2011. The last two winters have been very busy for us as we prepared Paradise for our adventure. [...]
Social:

Sailing on Paradise

Who: Paul Doolan and Vanessa Collett
Port: Dartmouth