An Altere Adventure

1 February 2018 Tenacatita

I left Bahia Chamela and headed further south about 29 miles to Bahia Tenacatita. It was overcast but hot and muggy along the coast. This portion of the coast is rocky with a very rugged landscape reminding me of driving Highway 1 in California. I could not go too close however because of shoals, reefs, and rocks.

Bahia Tenacatita is a very wide bay with two hooks on the north side. The main anchorage is inside of the second hook affording protection from the predominant northerlies that occur this time of year. I was surprised to find an entire aluminum forest of sailboat masts inside the bay. There were 22 sailboats (including mine) and 5 powerboats anchored behind this small hook. Despite the hooks, the swells from the ocean still wrap themselves around and into the bay creating surf on the wide beach.

I launched the inflatable again, with some courage given my performance in Chamela. I headed for the palapa on the beach having read about a local dish called Rollo de Mar. It is advertised as fresh shrimp or octopus wrapped in a fish filet which is then wrapped in bacon. It is served covered with an almond cream sauce. My mouth was watering as I managed to land without getting seriously wet. Alas, the palapa had just closed. I tried to time the waves leaving and stayed relatively dry getting off the beach. But I was hungry. I ended up eating Italian, cooking some spinach pasta that John bought me at the market in La Cruz.

The next morning I raised the anchor and headed for Barra de Navidad reputed to have a bit more civilization, WiFi, and a protected harbor where I won’t get wet going ashore.

Comments