An Altere Adventure

Stuck(?) in La Cruz

My weather window to go north on Monday got narrower and narrower, to the point that I would only get to San Blas (maybe) and then wait there. And then other circumstances prevailed. I had been playing so much that I really was not ready. I had not yet been to the fuel dock, or a larger grocery to provision, or to the port captain to check out. All of those could have been dealt with but…..

…..In order to get the full experience as a gringo living in México, I found a way to get Moctezuma’s revenge. I am not sure of the cause. I have been an adventurous eater and not afraid of street food, although I do stick with things that have been cooked or boiled. This left me tired and uncomfortable as I went through three days of taking an antibiotic. A friend advised me to take some immodium, but the farmacia had already closed, so there I was walking the docks begging for drugs. A nice couple from Whitehorse loaned me some. It was not long before I was on the mend.

I still went out and listened to music and headed back to La Cava de Martinez to listen to La Patrona Monday night. They are a group I mentioned in my last post who play traditional Mexican music. The guitarist, I learned is a civil engineer who moonlights as a musician and the keyboard player was one of his students. They are quite good, but the guitarists wife sings. She is both beautiful and has a voice that is a remarkable instrument. They play again on Friday. I may go back again.

Another night I listened to acoustic guitar music and old Mexican folk songs. One night a little taqueria not far from the marina, had a wonderful flautist and guitarist playing jazz. Afterwards, I went back to the rooftop bar and listened to 60’s and 70’s pop rock tunes, also well played. And then there was a guitar and percussion trio that was outstanding at a small palapa nearby. I have not figured how a small clientele can support such great music. The only thing I can figure is that we cruisers tend to be generous with la propina (tips).

Marina Riviera Nayarit here in La Cruz holds a lot of activities for cruisers. I had heard one lecture by a German couple about their loop around the North Pacific. Panama, Galapagos, Tuamotus, Tonga, Japan, Aleutian Chain, Sitka, Vancouver, SF, San Diego, and here, to name some of their stops. Later, there was a group share about provisioning and food storage on a boat.

This week, a doctor from a local clinic, gave a class for cruisers on emergency suturing. I actually put a stitch in pig’s leg. Yes, the pig was previously deceased. Had that not been the case, I doubt he would have stayed still the length of time it took me to tie a knot with that tiny thread. This is like having a life raft. I hope I never have to use this skill, but it is nice to have.

I also attended a Spanish class here. They spent a little time on the future tense, something I have not yet covered, along with a lot of group conversation in Spanish. Every little bit of learning helps.

All this got me to thinking about the cruising community here. Almost all got here be sailing from someplace far away. That makes them a very self sufficient and resourceful crowd. They also have to be intelligent and lifelong learners. People are mostly friendly and helpful to others. I can walk down the dock and engage in a conversation with someone I have never met and always find something in common with them. There are great stories among this crowd. Every one is different. I am in awe of these people who have many miles under their keels and lots of blue water experience.

I have a good weather window to get to Mazatlán in the next two days. I plan to leave as the sky lightens in the morning. I will spend the rest of the day preparing the boat for being at sea and I will cook a big meal that I can reheat the next few nights.

Comments