Sailing Altona South

30 January 2013 | Lucaya, Grand Bahama
30 May 2012 | Exumas & Berry Islands
26 May 2012 | Provo & West Caicos
30 April 2012 | Dominican Republic
29 April 2012 | Dominican Republic
22 April 2012 | Dominican Republic
19 April 2012 | Fajardo to Boqueron
10 March 2012 | Puerto Rico and Culebra
21 February 2012 | 18 28.27'N:64 32.12'W
12 February 2012 | British Virgin Islands
11 February 2012 | Cruz Bay, Caneel Bay, Maho Bay, Waterlemon Bay, Hansen Bay, Lameshure Bay, Rendezvous Bay, Cruz Bay
10 February 2012 | Caneel Bay, St. John's
01 February 2012 | Maho Bay, St. John's, USVI
23 January 2012 | Culebrita to Charlotte Amalie
17 January 2012 | Isla de Culebra
10 January 2012 | Fajardo, Puerto Rico
30 December 2011 | West Bay
26 December 2011 | Andros

Cane Garden Bay, Tortola; White Bay, Guana Island; Lee Bay, Great Camanoe

18 February 2012 | British Virgin Islands
Tortola is a short sail away from Jost Van Dyke, and we headed to Cane Garden Bay and strolled the beach past the beach bars and fisherman. It seemed like a family oriented place, with just a few cruising boats and more people in the shoreside resorts. The diving pelicans and sea birds were prolific and fascinating. I need a bird book, because some are very distinctive and can really dive deep. The day we sailed out, the stacks of beach chairs were lined up from one end of the beach to the other in readiness for an invasion of tourists from the Road Town cruise ships who wanted a day at the beach. A very good time to leave!

Next came White Bay on Guana Island, with its lovely sheltered bay. There were only 3 boats anchored there, and although it's private, we could walk the absolutely pristine white sand beach. It was as lovely as White Bay on Jost Van Dyke, but without the crowds. There's a private resort on the island, which looked really nice. Buildings nestled on the hillside and there were a few beach toys to enjoy. At the end of the bay was Monkey Point, which is supposed to have great snorkelling, but there's no anchoring allowed (we didn't purchase a National Parks Permit for $15.00/day because you can't even use the mooring balls overnight) and it was too windy anyway. With winds picking up, we headed for Lee Bay instead, a nice sheltered spot with only 2 other boats. Gotta love it!

It was at Lee Bay on Great Camanoe that I was stalked by a barracuda. Ralph had swum out the check the anchor, and I followed when I was ready. I headed towards him, but the hugest barracuda I've EVER seen swam between us, right towards me. I headed back for the boat. He circled around between me and the boat. I headed for shore, which is where Ralph was by then. He circled around between me and the shore. Apparently, he intended to get between me and wherever I wanted to go, so I faked him out by heading back to the boat, then flipped onto my back and swam backwards so I could keep an eye on him and pivot my fins towards him whichever way he went, splashing like crazy to keep him at bay. When I got close enough, I ripped out my snorkel and yelled for Ralph. "What?" my hero asked, not looking up from his safe perch on the rocks where he was fiddling with his mask. I didn't want to yell, "Help" and have him think I was drowning, so I yelped, "Come here." "Why?" (Still fiddling with the mask). I couldn't manage to say anything at that point because I'd taken my eyes off the barracuda and lost him, so I was busy floundering around like the agitator in a washing machine trying to spot him so he couldn't sneak up on me. "Barracuda," I managed to gasp. "Oh, he's just curious. Get over here," my knight in shining armour said. Big help he was. When I finally reached the rocks and scrambled as high out of the water as I could, Ralph put his mask on, looked underwater at the barracuda who was now hovering about a foot away staring at us, and from the safety of his shore perch he observed, "Oh, he's a big one!" Ya think?!?! (Shows how scared I was that I hadn't once thought of taking a picture.) "He's more scared of you than you are of him," Ralph insisted. Since the barracuda can swim much faster and has much sharper teeth, I highly doubt that, and I maintain the only thing a fish that big is curious about is what I will taste like. For days after this incident, Ralph would start chuckling for no apparent reason, and I just knew he was thinking of how scared I was of that bloody fish.

Comments
Vessel Name: Altona
Vessel Make/Model: Tartan 37
Hailing Port: Fifty Point Marina, Lake Ontario
Crew: Ralph Stolberg & Wendy Hodgson
About: When not aboard Altona, Ralph & Wendy live in Guelph, Ontario, Canada. Cruise 1 was 2009-2010 from Lake Ontario to the Bahamas and back to the Chesapeake Bay. Cruise 2 was 2011-2012 from Deltaville VA through the Caribbean to the BVI and back to Florida. Cruise 3 is underway!
Extra: To view photos of our first trip to the Bahamas, see Wendy's albums at https://picasaweb.google.com/Sailingaltona Cruise 2 goal: The Caribbean! (Mission accomplished) Cruise 3 goal: We're taking it as it comes. "A good traveler has no fixed plans and is not intent on arriving." Lao Tzu

SV Altona, 1981 Tartan37

Who: Ralph Stolberg & Wendy Hodgson
Port: Fifty Point Marina, Lake Ontario