The adventures of Forever Young

Sailing the Carribean

Sailing Belize

It has been about six weeks since I left the jungle, green lakes and river of the Rio Dulce, Guatemala and sailed into the beautiful turquoise waters and Cays of Belize. After clearing customs in Punta Gorda it was a short motor sail to New Haven, a protected anchorage on the mainland of Belize. Surrounded on three sides by mangroves, the isolated harbor offers great protection from the winds (anchor watch not needed). I overnighted there before leaving with my crew and friend Diane, for Placencia Harbour, Belize and the infamous Yolies bar. The bar is a place where sailors and cruisers meet to share their stories and tell tall tales. This is where I find myself today, writing my blog, and enjoying the Sunday noon BBQ (ribs, chicken, the thickest pork chops i have encountered and Regans best BBQ sauce), a few cold beers, and conversations with old and new friends.

My blog is partially driven by my accountant Bitsy's pressure to write about my sailing adventures. So this first one is for you Bitsy lol.

Comments