The Voyage of Anam Caraid

29 September 2011
22 September 2011
21 September 2011 | Pultneyville, NY
21 September 2011
20 September 2011 | Prince Edward County
19 September 2011 | Picton Ontario
18 September 2011 | Picton, Ontario
17 September 2011 | Waupoos
16 September 2011 | Waupoos
15 September 2011
12 September 2011
11 September 2011
10 September 2011 | Whitby, Ontario
09 September 2011 | Hanlan's Point, Toronto Island
19 August 2011 | Hamilton, Ontario
19 August 2011 | Lake Ontario heading to Hamilton

Moving again! Time for an overnight sail.

14 September 2011
OK... enough already. Interviews... headhunters.... retirement is taking a backseat and I don't think I like it.

We are off! We decided if we have any chance of making to to Picton we have to leave and sail straight to Waupoos. That's about 120 miles of sailing which will take upwards of 24 hours. I don't want to hit False duck in the dark so we decided to leave at 11:00am.

The winds were supposed to be directly behind us and light and then in the evening switch to North and strengthen to 20 knots. As it turned out the winds were perfect for the sail down the lake. All day long is was warm and sunny and we were broad reaching at 6 knots. It was perfect but we were a little ahead of schedule and were definitely going to hit False Duck island in the dark at this rate.
As night fell the winds continued from the same direction. Michele had made stew during the day while it was calm so we were sure to have a decent meal even if the weather kicked up.

At 8:30 pm we spotted smoke on the water under what appeared to be a parachute flare. We took a heading to it before it went out and took down the sails and motored on that heading as fast as the boat would go. After we sighted the second one I began prepping the boat and getting out the spot lights. The battery operated spot didn't seem to take a charge so it was useless. I grabbed the other one that ran off a cigarette lighter outlet and plugged it in (I've never used this one since purchasing it new since I prefer the portability of the battery operated one). The damn thing doesn't work! I have no working spot light so rescue it going to be a little more challenging! I called the coast guard on sighting the third parachute flare (what boater carries three of these expensive flares?). I give the coast guard my position and the heading and estimated distance to the flares. It turns out the Search and Rescue guys are practicing air dropping flares! Of course this is Michele's first real over night sail (she has sailed many times with me at night but not ALL night) and this now has our hearts going a little.

We get back on course but decide to continue motoring until we are out of the flare exercise area. Just for fun they drop one right over us. I keep waiting for the wind to carry it away which I know it will but for the longest time it looked like it was going to land really close.

When I was sure we were clear it was time to start sailing. Now I have been expecting a wind shift that still hadn't come but in preparation, since we are now putting the sails back up, I put a single reef in the main. At the predicted 15 to 20 knot winds it's not really necessary on our boat but just to be safe and make it more comfortable I throw it in anyway. I then pull the yankee out and start sailing again with just the two sails. Almost immediately the wind starts it's shift so I bring the main over to the starboard side and have Michele run downwind. Immediately things get out of control. The winds pick up to over 30 knots surging to over 40 for minutes at a time. I need to get the yankee in but the furling jams. I've had it do this before in strong winds and usually you just let it out and then pull it in again. This time it just won't roll up. Michele loses the one sheet and it starts to whip around wildly. It caught on one of the lifelines and snapped the pelican hook clean off (sheared 1/4" stainless bolt). I have no choice but to go forward so I clip on to the jackline and run forward to pull the sail down. After a few minutes I have the sail down and lashed to the deck. While I am up there I put a second reef in the main and we are now under control again. Of course with 6 foot waves now coming off our quarter and these heavy winds it's pretty uncomfortable.

Then the rain starts.... it continues ALL night. We are soaked through. I changed twice to keep warm.
Comments
Vessel Name: Anam Caraid
Vessel Make/Model: Bayfield 36 (1987)
Hailing Port: Etobicoke, Ontario (EYC)
Crew: Michele and Bruce
About: Together 38 years and sailing for the last 15 whenever we could keeps life entertaining. Bruce loves to sail and race.... Michele loves to relax in the sun and sail to new locations (especially if there is a winery within walking distance!
Anam Caraid's Photos - Main
17 Photos
Created 2 October 2011
The trip to Prinyer's cove.
24 Photos
Created 20 September 2011
The trip to Picton and the sites around it.
11 Photos
Created 19 September 2011
After a freezing overnight sail we arrived in Waupoos where we spent 3 days
26 Photos
Created 18 September 2011
Time to go back and prepare for a week of parties before heading out again.
3 Photos
Created 17 September 2011
Still week one
5 Photos
Created 17 September 2011
Retirement starts with the first act (if you don't count getting "retired" as the first act)
4 Photos
Created 17 September 2011
First stop on on the big retirement cruise
13 Photos
Created 17 September 2011