Andiamo Naples

....one woman's take on round-the-world... (well, sort of)

05 January 2015 | finally writing, back in the USA
23 October 2014 | The Islands of Eastern Fiji
12 October 2014 | East of Savusavu, Fiji
30 September 2014 | Savusavu, Fiji
21 September 2014 | Lape Village, Vava'u, The Kingdom of Tonga
14 September 2014 | Neiafu, Vava'u in The Kingdom of Tonga
01 September 2014 | safely in Neiafu, Vavua, Tonga
31 August 2014 | hundreds of miles from anywhere
21 August 2014 | on route to uninhabited Suwarrow atoll
06 August 2014 | French Polynesia
28 July 2014
10 July 2014
09 July 2014 | Bora Bora, French Polynesia
26 June 2014 | Papeete, Tahiti
17 June 2014 | departing Anse Amyot, Tuamotus
24 May 2014 | Writing from Tahuata
03 May 2014 | Rikitea, Mangareva
24 April 2014 | En Route to French Polynesia

The Sense of an Ending

24 April 2014 | En Route to French Polynesia
Dede
As I am leaving America - and a reliable internet connection - behind , I am downloading half-dozen books to my Kindle. While I haven't yet read Julian Barnes' acclaimed novel, "The Sense of an Ending", I need to borrow his title. It is not lost on me that he chose the word THE, not just A....sense of an ending, as if to impart even more finality and weight to this particular ending. There is absolutely no doubt that I have just experience THAT kind of ending.....substantial, significant, and permanent. Yet with the changes so sweeping and rapid, and too raw and recent to have benefited from retrospection, today as I fly halfway across the globe to rejoin Eric and David on Andiamo, I am left with THE SENSE and not yet the meaning (should there ever be any).

At the moment, the overall SENSE, is profound fatigue. I have spent the last seven weeks closing down - Ending - the life David and I built together these 33 years. That may land a bit melodramatic: after all, the facts would say that I merely saw to the details of the sale of a house. But to me it felt like oh so much more - physically, emotionally and mentally. The comprehensive Excel spreadsheet I prepared (what a surprise!) of what I needed to do these past weeks reads like a Project Report. The long hours and level of detail involved were so intense I kept feeling like I should be drawing a salary! Despite considering myself a consummate organizer, completing the packing up of all this STUFF, finding affordable storage, choosing a rental condo for our visit home next season, dealing with the tax stuff and the financial stuff and the insurance stuff and the house sale itself, not to mention the impact of leaving the country for 9 months, created the overwhelming SENSE of, well, overwhelm. More specifically and accurately perhaps, what I have had is the SENSE of enormous responsibility, compounded and exaggerated by bearing this (unwanted) burden virtually alone. Sure it made division-of-labor sense for me to handle this solo while David and Eric faced their own very real challenges continuing on with another 3000 arduous nautical miles of full-on ocean sailing (wow!)....., but it still stinks.... and I have experienced it as one of the most stressful periods of my life. (If there was any upside, I now know, without a doubt, that I can live alone if need be - hey, honey, you might want to take note!)

But deep down, that's all just griping. I think what has really made this so difficult has been that pervasive, gnawing undercurrent: the SENSE of a LOSS, of decline, of being on the back nine with the best (at least materially) behind us. In choosing round-the-world sailing, homelessness was surely the financially and logistically prudent corollary. It was a necessary, freely-chosen, certainly understood and ultimately inevitable loss, but a hard one nonetheless. There is now the SENSE of no turning back: a lifestyle gone, a chapter (or a volume) closed, a cache of memories left behind. The cumulative effect is THE (palpable, for-your-consideration, life-changing) SENSE of an ENDING. It has warranted, deserved and commanded my attention.

Saturated in this SENSE of an Ending, I have had my tears, said my goodbyes, packed and repacked my bags, slept in 6 beds in 13 days. I have done my due diligence, backed up my documents, filed away the paperwork, moved my former life into four - count them - storage units and turned the proverbial keys. I truly appreciate all of you who helped me through this difficult transition: Stan who relentlessly packed with me, Ann who is acting as our land-based agent, Mom & Dad and Mary & Steve and Katie & Ben who sheltered me in my homeless state, my girlfriends who let me vent and vent and vent, Frances & David who coaxed me out on the town and lifted my spirits, all who listened and supported and encouraged.... Now I cross this ocean to meet my guys embarking on this unique opportunity we three have been given: to travel around the world on our very own (nearly) self-sustaining boat.

While I cannot say I see any "meaning" in all this, allowing myself to be deeply immersed these past months in The Sense of an ENDING has been more than griping and wound-licking. Sitting with and acknowledging this momentous (to me) closure, is now ever so slowly starting to clear space for a future-focus: one with possibility and wonder and even freedom. It is fostering The Sense of a blank slate, of a fresh start, of the faintest awakening of The Sense of a BEGINNING. Perhaps homeless, debt-free living has its merits after all. What if homeless translates to home free? There is no way to know what awaits me on this journey, but with the clock ticking and less time to write this new chapter in life, I best be getting on my way. ....Polynesia here I come.
Comments
Vessel Name: Andiamo
Vessel Make/Model: Leopard 40 Catamaran - Robertson & Caine design
Hailing Port: Naples, FL, USA
Crew: David, Dede & Eric
About:
Catalyzed by my husband David's unexpected early retirement and cemented by our 25-year-old son Eric 's eagerness to (pay his way and) join us, I find myself a reluctant but willing third-shift circumnavigator....well not really. [...]
Extra: "When we stop struggling we float" ... from The Book of Awakening
Social:
Andiamo's Photos - Main
No Photos
Created 27 January 2014
Happy 56th Birthday, Captain Dave. Remember these sailing moments?
11 Photos
Created 2 December 2013
A glimpse at the challenges of provisioning and stowing.
21 Photos
Created 1 December 2013
Captain David and Eric spend 6 days covering much sea
27 Photos
Created 25 October 2011
Eric arrives on his 23rd birthday; Dede leaves for home
33 Photos
Created 16 October 2011
In the ICW with stops at Southport, NC and Georgetown, SC, as well as motoring through The Ditch
18 Photos
Created 15 October 2011
Hatteras, Ocracoke, Oriental (ICW) and Cape Lookout, sailing to Wrightsville Beach
33 Photos
Created 9 October 2011
Norfolk, The Great Dismal Swamp, Elizabeth City, Manteo
25 Photos
Created 5 October 2011
New Jersey Coast, Cape May, Annapolis, St. Michaels and Oxford and the southern Chesapeake
43 Photos
Created 30 September 2011
Sailing down "memory lane" - Long Island Sound - we visit with Uncle Paul & Aunt Ann and Marty & Linda as we anchor in Black Rock Harbor; then on to NYC
31 Photos
Created 18 September 2011
What an awesome time cycling around Nantucket and hitting different ports on The Vineyard!
26 Photos
Created 13 September 2011
Highlights: visit w/ LAURA's family AND celebrating our 30th anniversary at the OCEAN HOUSE
27 Photos
Created 5 September 2011
After 1998.9 miles, we begin our return home from Bar Harbor. With Katie & Eric still with us we also makes plans for Hurricane Irene
21 Photos
Created 28 August 2011
Katie & Eric join us to explore our country's second most visited park
34 Photos
Created 23 August 2011
Boothbay - Visiting with Cousin Fran & Family; Katie & Eric arrive!
30 Photos
Created 19 August 2011
Starting out at Kittery Point and heading to Booth Bay Harbor
23 Photos
Created 14 August 2011
Captain Dave and Reluctant First Mate Dede begin THE GREAT SAILING ADVENTURE from Stonington, CT
25 Photos
Created 8 August 2011
Captain Dave and First Mate Mike sail from Virgina Beach to Stonington, CT. Dede Finally shows up!
10 Photos
Created 4 August 2011
Captain Dave, who is later joined by temporary First Mate Todd, sails from Naples to Virgina Beach
8 Photos
Created 27 July 2011