Anna Marie

Crealock 37

18 August 2018 | Eureka, Humboldt Bay, California
05 August 2018 | Half Moon Bay
30 July 2018 | Monterey, California
23 June 2018
22 June 2018 | Cabo San Lucas
14 June 2018 | La Paz, BCS, Mexico
11 June 2018 | Marina de La Paz, BCS, Mexico
11 May 2018 | Marina Mazatlan
02 May 2018 | La Cruz
14 April 2018 | La Cruz de Huanacaxtle Anchorage
02 April 2018

Sea of Cortez, March 13 to March 29

27 March 2017 | Puerto Ballandra, Isla Carmen, Sea of Cortez, Mexico
North wind to 20 knots today.
The Anna Marie and crew (Robert) left La Paz on March 13, Monday, and continued her trip up into the Sea of Cortez. First stop was Ensenada de la Raza on Isla Espiritu Santos. On Tuesday, we traveled a short five nautical miles north to Caleta Partida where I went snorkeling with the crew of Eagle (now Tom and a young Canadian woman named Stephanie) and visited sea caves on the east coast of Espiritu Santos. I joined the crew of Eagle aboard their boat for dinner. A treat, since I seldom cook for myself. On Wednesday morning, March 15, I weighed anchor and followed Eagle up the coast of Isla Partida and dropped my anchor in 20' of water in the southern lobe of Ensenada Grande at a little after 1000. Another short trip, but I am out here to explore! So, the crew from Eagle and I hiked up an arroyo for a couple of miles in search of caves. It was a truly tough hike. More like scrambling up a steep landslide. Since we planned to sail on to Isla San Francisco the same day, we terminated our search and returned to our respective boats. Departing at 1420, we were able to sail about half the 19 nautical miles to Isla San Francisco, arriving and anchoring around 1830.

Spent the early part of the day hiking and the afternoon cleaning the boat's bottom and changing the zinc anode on the MaxProp. Stephanie swam over and helped with both. Pretty impressive crew member Tom connected with! Dinner on Eagle again! Pasta, salad, and wine. Nice evening.

We all departed Isla San Francisco by 0900 on Friday March 17 and headed up to San Evarista, about 10 nm to the NW, a small fishing village tucked into a bay on the Baja coast. I was actually able to sail all the way with the jib set only. My first anchor set failed, something that has not occurred for a long time. I think I set it in heavy weed of some sort, but not sure since water clarity was poor. Regardless, second try held well. Since San Evarista has a small water desalination plant, I decided to top my tanks off. This started with transferring the three-five gallon jerry cans into my tanks. To get water into the act tank I need to move much gear off of the quarter berth so that I can open one of the inspection ports on the stern tank to let air pot of the tank. The vent on that tank apparently quits venting when the water level reaches a certain point. Not sure why, perhaps just a design flaw. Damn load of work just to put a few gallons of water on. The desalination plant was closed when Tom picked me up and took me ashore. Everything - which means the desalination plant, the tienda, and the small restaurant - were closed. And on St. Patrick Day! So on Saturday, March 18, I finally hauled out my dinghy, inflated it, and rowed ashore to get water. I had been relying on Eagle for shore transport mostly because his boat was ready and I was being lazy. Note that I did not put the outboard on the dinghy. Since I do not have a davit for lowering and raising the 5hp motor, I resist using it. At least I now have the dang thing inflated and will just tow it. I finally got the water aboard and Anna Marie ready for departure and raised anchor around 1100 and set course for Bahia de Los Gatos.

Arrived in Los Gatos a little after 1500 and set the anchor in 18' of water with 90' of chain out. If I have not not d this before, Anna Marie has a manual windlass, thus raising and lowering the 44 pound claw anchor and chain takes me a bit longer than it does many of the boaters out here.

On Sunday, March 19, I joined Eagle's crew for a hike up to the fisherman's cross and, later, some snorkeling along a rather barren reef. Not much plant or animal life down there. The following day, March 20, I was underway by 0915. Tried sailing with both sails set, but wind did not cooperate, thus motored a great deal of the way to Bahia San Marte, where I anchored in 20' with 100' of chain out. The photo accompanying this blog was taken at San Marte, I believe. I took the dinghy out and went for a long row up along the cliffs. I joined Eagle's crew that evening for a beach fire and drinks.

We left San Marte at 1000 on Tuesday, March 21, and circled around between the mainland and Marciel Reef, with our destination just a few miles away in the waters of Bahia Agua Verde. This a pretty bay, with a long beach fronting a small village, with two small coves on either end. I anchored off the beach. Right off a small palapa restaurant, in fact. Eagle crew and I went ashore after out respective boats were well situated (Eagle was over in the cove on the northwest end of the bay), and had great fish tacos there. And later that day, after a short walk to a local tienda to replenish some provisions, we took Eagle's dinghy out side the bay and up a long beach to the north, beached her, and hiked up to a cave (scrambled) where the primative styled paintings are purported to be ancient. I have my doubts, but it was a fun excursion. Later, upon our return, we had dinner at the little palapa cafe again. Later I joined Tom and Stephanie aboard Eagle for a beer as it was Stephanie's birthday today.

We left Agua Verde at 0900 on Wednesday, March 22, and motored north to Puerto Escondido, arriving at 1345. We each found and took mooring balls inside the protected bay that are provided by the marina. Not much of a marina, but apparently a private concern has taken over operation of the whole shebang that has been operated by the Mexican government. Looks like they have some ambitious development plans, but so far not much has been improved. Connection to the mooring ball cost me about 200 pesos per day. We stayed in Puerto Escondido until Saturday, March 25. Our first day there we caught a marina provided ride to a nearby tienda where I bought a bunch of stuff without much regard to whether I needed it. What the heck. On our return to the marina, we had the van driver drop us off at Hotel Tripuli where we enjoyed a nice, but expensive, dinner. Stephanie treated us! On Thursday morning, we went ashore (courtesy of Eagle's crew) to catch a ride into Loreto from a friend of Stephanie's (Jen) who is staying in Loreto. We managed to get some laundry done before she arrived. Loreto was a surprise to me. Seemed more like a southwestern town in the States, at least the parts we were in. Very Gringo oriented and peopled. After lunch with Jen and her boyfriend, we enjoyed visiting Baja's first mission and it's museum. I bought a book called Baja Legends at a local bookstore, followed by a beer at a bar across the street with Tom and Stephanie. Later, after a beer and some excellent smoked fish at Stephanie's friend Paul's abode (Paul also gave us some fresh bass and some frozen tuna to take back to our boats), we had a locally brewed IPA and then caught the Aguila bus heading south to La Paz. We of course got off at the intersection to the road to the marina. Probably a 2 mile walk or so, but Stephanie flagged don a car and we squeezed into a tiny thing that already had three young Mexicans aboard. But we fit and did not have to walk down the dark and dangerous road.

The next day, Friday March 24, I spent most of the day aboard trying to get my ships computer to connect via my Ubiquity Networks Bullet antenna to the marina wifi system. The signal was good, but my router gave me awhile lotta grief. Finally happened though, and I was able to finish and submit my 2016 tax return. Later, around 1700, Eagle crew picked me up and we went ashore and walked the half mile trek to The Tripuli Hotel for dinner. Fish tacos. Quite good. Beers on Eagle later and a goodbye to Stephanie who departs on Saturday morning for a ride back to La Paz and her car.

On Saturday morning, March 25, I rowed ashore for a shower then began preparing Anna Marie for departure. As I planned to get fuel and water at the marina facilities, I prepared dock lines and fenders. I had to wait my turn for about 45 minutes just off the fuel dock. Once in at 1230, fuel and water took me another 45 minutes, thus able to leave just prior to low tide at 1315. The entrance is rather shallow so it had been our intention to get there well prior to low tide. As it was, I squeaked by with about a foot of water under my keel. We motored the short distance across open water to Honeymoon Cove on Danzante Island where I anchored in about 37 feet of water. The following day, Sunday ?March 26, found us raising anchor and heading over to Isla Carmen, where we set our hooks in Marquer Bay, supposedly for the night. This is an open anchorage, however, and a wicked west swell and wind later in the afternoon convinced us to up anchor and travel north up the coast of Isla Carmen to Puerto Ballandra. I got in just ahead of Eagle (rare, as I usually follow), and found anchorage about a half hour after sunset in 20 feet of water.

As my remote helm unit for depth and wind speed/direction had been viciously separated from its cabling when I tripped and took it out early yesterday, I spent Monday morning, March 27, repairing it. Around 1230, Tom came over and collected me and we went ashore for a hike into the island's interior. Interesting country! We were fortunate to spot about four desert bighorn sheep that have been introduced here by the government.

So here it is Tuesday, March 28, and I have managed to rather hurriedly get this blog updated. The wind is blowing hard out of the north as I write this. A wind that is forecast to continue at least into Thursday evening. I am well anchored but on the southern side of this cove, thus more fetch to deal with and of course a lee shore not terribly far off my transom. No room on the other side of the cove, though, unless I crowd somebody. Winds are supposed to clock around to the northwest tonight, which could cause me some grief if more of the swell and wind waves make into my location. I have out about 110' feet of chain and am anchored on a broad sandy shelf here in 20' of water, so should withstand the predicted wind force okay. "Should" being the key word that will keep me awake tonight!

We will be heading further north by Friday, stopping at Isla Coronados, Bahia San Juanico, and Bahia Concepcion.

Comments
Vessel Name: Anna Marie
Vessel Make/Model: Pacific Seacraft (Crealock 37)
Hailing Port: Portland, Oregon
Crew: Robert Curry
Anna Marie's Photos - Main
Town Square in Ensenada
9 Photos | 14 Sub-Albums
Created 2 December 2014
12 Photos
Created 27 September 2014
Short stop at Sucia Island in Snoring Bay.
5 Photos
Created 29 June 2014
A few shots of sails being made at NW Sails loft in Port Hadlock, WA.
4 Photos
Created 2 February 2014
Photos taken prior to departure
6 Photos
Created 21 June 2013
web counter
web counter