WHALEBOAT M.V. TITAN

The adventures of the Rusten family and our converted US Navy Motor Whaleboat on the Columbia River.

20 June 2011 | Scappoose, Oregon
27 November 2010 | Our Boatyard
01 October 2010 | Scappoose, Oregon
23 May 2009 | Scappoose, Oregon
22 December 2008 | Scappoose, Oregon
30 August 2008 | Scappoose Oregon
22 July 2008 | Scappoose, Oregon
22 June 2008 | Scappoose, Oregon
27 October 2007 | Scappoose, Oregon
08 October 2007 | Scappoose, Oregon
28 February 2007 | Caterpillar Island Marina
01 October 2004 | The Sailing Life - Portland,Or

The Power Panel

22 June 2008 | Scappoose, Oregon
Andy
When I first got the boat, it had the usual P O S power panel down on the floor lever. Along with 15 extra feet of wiring and whatevers. I decided since I didnt want an inside fire or damage to radios, etc. I should find a place to put a full size panel and build one that I liked. After cruising the internet for several other cruisers ideas. I found a design that I really liked. So I layed it out on 1/4" plywood and added a aluminum panel, ATO Fuse panel, meters, 12v outlets and silver contact toggle switches with LED lights added for show... It came out great and now I have lots of extra switches to use for items and I also added a second battery. The panel has an ammeter for showing draw off the battery plus a selector switch to see the parent voltage on each battery in the boat. Ill add a charging system later on for the batterys to maintain them. I think the panel came out rather good and its mounted just next to the table for easy access and out of the way of feet and dogs.
Comments
Vessel Name: Titan
Vessel Make/Model: '68 USN Ret MK10 Whaleboat
Hailing Port: Scappoose, Oregon
Crew: Andy & Becky Rusten
About: our dogs Shiloh and Opal bark at passers by, wag their tales and generally sleep the whole trip.
Extra: Titan is a 1968 retired USN MK10 Whaleboat built by Uniflite in Seattle and converted to a commercial fishing boat after its retirement and now joining our family as a pleasure cruiser here on the Columbia River

MV Titan Blog

Who: Andy & Becky Rusten
Port: Scappoose, Oregon