Sailing with an Axle

27 April 2012 | Seaford
23 April 2012 | Seaford
21 April 2012 | Seaford
18 April 2012 | Seaford
04 April 2012 | Seaford
03 April 2012 | Seaford

Hunter 216 and its VERA rudder

06 April 2012
Abernathy
So I have given alot of thought to the fact that when I took my daughter (9) out sailing in light winds, I could barely step forward to the cabin without the boat wondering all over the place. If it falls off course just a little the leading edge catches the flow, and continues to swing the foil. Currently, you can not leave it unattended. In principle I think Hunter got it right with this rudder for a trailer sailor. Simple, clears out the transom for swimmers, and creates lots of space in the cockpit. In practice I think it might be a little to neutral.

Looking online, I have found multiple websites that state no more than 20% of the foil should be in front of the pivot point.

I don't want to build or construct an entirely new rudder, that is cost prohibitive right now. I am thinking of figuring out how to cant the rudder back more. If the tip is farther back I hope to reduce its tendency to swing of course.

Have any Hunter 216 sailors or other boats addressed a problem like this?

Comments
Vessel Name: Shiloh
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 216
Crew: J, K and the Reds
About: A family of five in the boat

Who: J, K and the Reds