Bacon Good, Work Bad

Follow the adventures of Bacon and James as they travel the Great Lakes, Intracoastal Waterway, Florida, and the Bahamas. Stay in touch, follow along, or join me aboard!

About Me...

Who: James Burbidge
Port: Midland (Doral)
18 January 2011
18 January 2011 | Atlantis (Nassau)
02 January 2011 | Northwest Shoal
01 January 2011 | Bimini
30 December 2010 | Bimini
29 December 2010 | Bimini
28 December 2010 | Miami Beach
18 December 2010 | North Palm Beach
17 December 2010 | Peck Lake
16 December 2010 | Wabasso
15 December 2010 | Port Canaveral
13 December 2010 | Jacksonville
09 December 2010 | Jacksonville
06 December 2010 | Grande Dunes (Myrtle Beach)
05 December 2010 | St. James
04 December 2010 | Wrightsville Beach
03 December 2010 | Swansboro
01 December 2010 | Oriental
23 November 2010 | Oriental
22 November 2010 | Oriental

More to Come

18 January 2011 | Atlantis (Nassau)
Apologies to my loyal blog followers. No, I have not sailed off the edge of the earth. In fact, This most recent segment of the voyage has been, by far, the highlight. In a nutshell, since my last posting. I spent Christmas at mom and dad's in Avon Park, picked up Jordi, sailed to Miami, crossed the Gulf Stream to Bimini where we spent new years and Junkanoo, sailed across the Great Bahama Bank to Frazer's Hog Cay, spent a few days exploring the Berry Islands, crossed to Nassau where we dropped a bunch of money at Atlantis, sent Jordi home and picked up Brian, sailed to Highborne Cay, spent a few days exploring the Exumas, and sailed back to Nassau. I have updated the blog as far as January 2, but there is LOTS more to come. Tons of pictures too. The trouble is, and has been, that there really hasn't been any time to do any writing. Furthermore, wifi access in the Bahamas is sparse, at best. So bear with me, I'll fill in the details as best I can, as soon as possible. Today Brian leaves, and dad is flying in to rejoin me for the last leg back to Florida. The journey is almost over. I just hope the weather lets me go.
Comments
Vessel Name: Bacon (nee Rapture)
Vessel Make/Model: CS 36 Traditional
Hailing Port: Midland (Doral)
Crew: James Burbidge
About:
I have sailed most of my life, although primarily on small boats on small lakes. For two decades now, I have aspired to get a "real" sailboat and use it to explore the planet by sea. This journey is a step toward that end. [...]

About Me...

Who: James Burbidge
Port: Midland (Doral)