Becoming Mrs Argos

What stared out as a family sailing adventure around Australia has changed somewhat! Now its mum and the kids (now aged 17 and almost 15) working it out for themselves while cruising the Queensland coast!

24 November 2016
19 August 2016
03 August 2016
21 June 2016
25 April 2016
09 February 2016
07 December 2015
25 August 2015 | South Stradbroke Island
10 August 2015
06 July 2015
04 May 2015
24 April 2015
11 April 2015 | Southport
01 April 2015 | Southport

Working!

05 April 2012 | Batemans Bay
Sue Watt
It's been a while since I posted a blog I know! And not because I haven't had anything to say - I have no doubt that everyone who knows me would know I am rarely short of having something to say! I haven't posted for a bit because what we are doing has been somewhat uncertain!
We arrived in the Bay after our travels thus far with a significant problem. We had run out of dollars. Well actually we had run out of dollars some time before we arrived at the Bay but Batemans Bay was the first place we came to on our journey where we thought we could stand a chance of actually getting some significant work.
Since we have arrived I am happy to say that several opportunities have arisen. Peter is so good at what he does, it's like as soon as someone gets him to work for them the jobs start coming - people love what he does - he is capable, quick and works to an extremely high standard. In addition to what he has going, I have been working in a café / restaurant. I have been doing some waitressing and barista-ing - it's been interesting to be making coffee again after quite a while, and even more interesting to be the new girl and junior when my only previous café experience was in running the place! I have had sore feet and had to practice humility and doing what I am asked! Hahaha it's been quite a challenge!
However, the end result is that we will now be able to attend to a couple of broken things (like the toilet - which hurrah we are going to replace with a nice shiny new one and a couple of pumps) and then start putting some money aside for when we can continue on in our journey. We anticipate being in Batemans Bay for some months if things continue as they are.
It's funny being in one place after spending a few months travelling. Peter gets quite 'antsy' and stands looking at the horizon dreamily - telling me that he is desperate to sail - I have to remind him that we are in fact sailing and to get over it! I even suggested he read the blog if he needed to remember where we have been!
The children are loving being in one place though and have found lots to do. Erina has been running in the early mornings, and has been taking some amazing photos - like the one posted here. I can't think of a better life for a young photographer than the one we are giving her where she has such freedom to take photos in so many locations. Liam has once again been doing some fishing and lives in hope of the big one he's going to catch soon!
For me, Batemans Bay has afforded me the opportunity to renew some lovely friendships, begin some new ones, catch up with my older children - which will always be the highlight of my life - and develop some sense of being in a community. I love that even on my first day waitressing in the café (Monet's by the way for anyone local) two people I met at the book club I joined, came in. I really felt like a local when people I knew came and said hello to me!
I am only working part time which means I still get time to write and have embarked on a new and innovative version of my memoir, Miles Away.
Our life here in the Bay is certainly full, with lots of trips to the local café our friends Steve and Chrissy run, The Olive Tree, visits for dinner with friends, book club, the odd bit of work here and there, jobs on board and many afternoons sitting in the sun on deck catching up with reading and just relaxing, watching the ocean just nearby and daydreaming about when we next head out there. We're not cruising at present, but life at the Bay remains cruisy never the less!
Comments
Vessel Name: Argos
Vessel Make/Model: Gaff Rig Schooner designed by Jay Benford, built by Jack Stolp
Hailing Port: Albany WA
Crew: Sue Parry-Jones, Erina and Liam Jones and Capt'n Jack Sparrow!
About:
After starting out from Albany WA in July 2011, we have faced some big seas, tricky situations and serious storms. We have learned to sail and learned to love the life of the cruising sailor. [...]
Extra:
In the years since we started Erina and Liam have become fine sailors. Liam is a keen knot man and has created a plethora of decorative rope finishes on board, as well as being skillful at any knot-work required on deck. Erina is the the master of the galley and cooks up the most incredible meals [...]
Home Page: www.becomingmrsargos.weebly.com
Social:

Becoming Mrs Argos

Who: Sue Parry-Jones, Erina and Liam Jones and Capt'n Jack Sparrow!
Port: Albany WA