Borta med Bengt

En resa

Huahine 27 juni 2022

Måndag den 27 juni 2022, Fare, Huahine

Både igår och idag fortsatte vi med vårt måleriprojekt. Ena sidan av doghouset blev klart och alla lister monterades tillbaka. Vi började på andra sidan där vi har navigationsbordet, ratten, el-panelen och annat som vi fick ta det varsamt med. I övrigt blåsigt väder med en del regnskurar men som man säger 'bra laddning' både av solen och vinden. Igår tog vi en sväng ut på revet för bad, idag var vi för trötta.

"I do not use the word fascist lightly. My father was a Presbyterian minister. My mother, a professor, was a seminary graduate. I received my Master of Divinity from Harvard Divinity School. I am an ordained Presbyterian minister. Most importantly, I spent two years reporting from megachurches, creationist seminars, right-to-life retreats, Christian broadcasting networks and conducted hundreds of hours of interviews with members and leaders of the Christian right for my book American Fascists: The Christian Right and the War on America, which is banned at most "Christian" schools and universities.

Before the book was published, I met at length with Fritz Stern, author of The Politics of Cultural Despair: A Study in the Rise of the German Ideology, two of the country's most eminent scholars of fascism, to make sure the word fascist was appropriate.

The book was a warning that an American fascism, wrapped in the flag and clutching the Christian cross, was organizing to extinguish our anemic democracy. This assault is very far advanced. The connecting tissue among the disparate militia groups, QAnon conspiracy theorists, anti-abortion activists, right-wing patriot organizations, Second Amendment advocates, neoConfederates and Trump supporters that stormed the Capitol on Jan. 6 is this frightening Christian fascism."
Chris Hedges: Fascists in Our Midst (consortiumnews.com)