Big Surprise

Vessel Name: Surprise
Vessel Make/Model: Niagara 42
Hailing Port: Rochester, NY
17 April 2015
12 April 2015 | Abacos
31 March 2015 | Warderick Wells
16 March 2015 | Great Exuma
16 March 2015 | Thompson Bay, LI
28 February 2015 | Long Island, Bahamas
22 February 2015 | Between Staniel and Georgetown
09 February 2015 | Warderick Wells, Exumas
07 February 2015 | Warderick Wells, Exumas, Bahamas
03 February 2015 | Highborne Cay, Exumas
01 February 2015 | Nassau
01 February 2015 | Nassau
01 February 2015 | Bahamas
16 January 2015 | Rivera Beach, Florida
15 January 2015 | Riviera Beach FL
18 November 2014
12 November 2014 | Green Cove Springs
04 November 2014 | Bewfort
28 October 2014 | Whiteside Creek
Recent Blog Posts
17 April 2015

Man O War Cay

12 April 2015 | Abacos

Hello Abacos!

In one week, Doug and Donna Faust will join us to bring Big Surprise back to Florida. We look forward to having them with us as they are incredible sailors and mechanics. Something is sure to break and I know they always have duct tape in their pockets.

31 March 2015 | Warderick Wells

Lazy Exumas

16 March 2015 | Great Exuma

Swimming with the pigs

It has been uncommonly windy in the Bahamas over the last couple of weeks. Strong easterlies at 20-25 knots with swells over 10 feet have limited everyone’s travels. Emerald Bay Marina, just north of Georgetown, is a beautiful place, but I find myself getting used to hot showers, a fitness facility, [...]

16 March 2015 | Thompson Bay, LI

The Green Flash

Does the Green Flash really exist or is it an illusion created by happy hour cocktails? All I know is that we saw several during our stay at Long Island.

28 February 2015 | Long Island, Bahamas

The Other Long Island

The days are getting a little slower, and that's just fine.

Happy New Year

16 January 2015 | Rivera Beach, Florida
Linda
Happy New Year!

We were talking with some friends last year about making this trip south. Fellow sailors were telling us about their own adventures south and how they split up their boat duties. Some are good at plumbing or sewing or provisioning or boat repairs. One of the sailors turned to me and asked, “Linda, what will you be doing on the boat?” I had not considered that question until that moment. I thought my job was to be ‘boat candy’. Offhandedly, I remarked, “My job is to make money.” Well, based on the boat repairs over the last few months, I guess it’s a good thing I kept working this fall!

I worked my last class before Christmas and will not be teaching again until after May 1. Now that I am not working, what will my job be? I have enough yarn on board to knit a new sail; an awesome camera to chronicle the way; and enough provisions to make meals for all of the Bahamas. Maybe I will be the odor detective. There are so many strange smells to get used to on a boat, none of which Ed notices! My recent quest is to remove all traces of mildew – probably an impossible task. Any ideas fellow sailors???

Chrissy and Joel (and Louie the family dachshund and Kitty the adorable cat) hosted Christmas at their place in Palm Beach. We stayed on Big Surprise, berthed at a nearby marina. Graham and Julia flew in and Joel’s parents, Krysia and Sam joined us from California for a great week. We played football on the beach on Christmas Day; went ocean fishing on Boxing Day, and shopped for ‘Mother of the Bride’ dresses (Ed declined the pleasure of the event).

Just after Christmas, we had a quick trip back to Rochester and got to spend New Year’s eve with Jan and Mike McCourt – we stayed up until after midnight. Enjoyed seeing everyone on New Year’s Day at RYC. It hadn’t occurred to me how much I would miss all of you. The few trips back home are a reminder of how important our Rochester friends are to us.

We hope to cross to the Bahamas soon (waiting for the right weather window). I am looking forward to seeing new places and having adventures, but there are many things I am going to miss: unlimited water supply; consistent power sources and therefore the use of hair dryers and straighteners; unlimited phone and data usage. My fellow cruisers tell me that in a few weeks I won’t care; that the cruising life is freedom from all that stuff. Bring on the rum drinks!

Off to Miami tomorrow to pick up Mike McCourt and our daughter Chrissy to do the crossing to Bimini. Thanks to Jackie and Bob Fields for your ideas of what to do around Nassau – looking forward to Potter’s Cay. Any other ideas will be most welcome.

Look forward to hearing from you!
Comments

About & Links