Blessed Lady

This is the cruising blog of the sailing yacht Mabrouka. The Favorites in the side bar allow those with discriminating taste to filter for just the stuff you want to read. Thanks for visiting, Roy.

13 September 2015
21 August 2015
21 August 2015
20 June 2015 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
15 June 2015 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
15 June 2015 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
15 June 2015 | Mazatlan Marina, Mazatlan Mexico
13 April 2015 | Off Club Nautico, Mazatlan Commercial Harbor, Mazatlan, MX
15 February 2015 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
13 February 2015 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
25 January 2015
06 January 2015 | Mazatlan, MX
24 December 2014 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
24 December 2014 | Mazatlan, MX
22 December 2014
21 December 2014
18 December 2014 | Playa Isla de la Piedra, Mazatlan, MX
18 December 2014 | Mazatlan, MX
15 December 2014 | Ensenada des los Muertos, Mexico

Another try at Nanaimo

01 October 2013 | Deep Bay at Jedediah Island
Roy
I awoke on my 60th birthday to relatively clear skies and calm winds. Note: I said relatively. It had been another night of feeling sorry for, but appreciative of my fenders, and the decks had been rinsed of yesterday's salt spray by heavy rains in the wee hours. Still, I was optimistic and set off early, getting around Grief Point before 8 am. The wind built throughout the day, though, and Mabrouka slowed to average only a little above 3 knots into the choppy sea that was being funneled northward up Malaspina Strait. We took a little water over the bow, probably every ten waves or so sending a slosh down the deck on one side or the other to drain out through my aft deck scuppers. I didn't make the southern tip of Texada Island until after 3pm, so crossing the Straits of Georgia and making it into Nanaimo before dark was out of the question. Who knows what the waves would be like in the Straits anyway, so I began to look for a hidey-hole for the night.

Deep Bay at Jedediah Island Provincial Marine Park

Texada Island bounds Malaspina Straits on the west, slanting northwest to southeast, with Lasqueti Island acting like a tag-along little sister just west and south of her southern third. In between their southern tips is a small archipelago that includes Jedediah, Jervis, and Bull Islands, not to mention quite a few smaller islets and rocks with names like Rabbit, Paul and Boho. Among several safe havens in this group, Jedediah offered Deep Bay, a small cove sheltered in just about any wind, so I turned the corner and headed northwest around Texada's southern tip. I turned south into the short passage between Jedediah and Paul Islands, to find that a log raft took up about a third of the channel, but I edged cautiously by and turned left in to Deep Bay. It was scenic, with steep, rocky, moss-covered shores and the usual oyster-strewn mud beach at its head. As I usually do, I took a slow motor, actually a drift around the bay with a sharp eye on my depth sounder to survey anchoring possibilities. It still feels dicey to maneuver Mabrouka's fifty foot length in to poke around a cranny of rock that offers turning room only about twice that wide and four times that long where the edges are made up of hard, sharp objects and you can't even see what lies beneath. As the Dreamspeaker Guide had promised, there were quite a few iron rings set in the cliffs for stern ties, so I dropped the hook in about 40 feet of water and chose a stern tie that gave me about 30 feet under Mabrouka's keel and about 5 feet of water between her stern and the rocky wall.

Log boom in cramping my style

Rounding Texada, I had been passed by the Un-Cruise vessel Safari Quest, a 120 ft, blue and white adventure cruise boat that had disappeared into the mist around Jededian Island ahead of me. I'm pretty sure they'd poked their bow into Deep Bay and decided it was a bit too tight for their comfort, so they'd anchored around the corner. It wasn't long after I'd secured Mabrouka's engine that one of Safari Quest's shore craft came into the bay to check out landing opportunities for the hike they had planned for their guests the next morning. On their way out they stopped to say, "Hi!" and I met Ian, apparently an officer and passenger guide. Ian invited me to join them in the morning and offered to bring me any "luxuries" I might be missing, ...coffee or whatnot. This second offer was very king and I refrained from replying that I had plenty of luxuries aboard Mabrouka, thank you very much. Later I'd wished I had had the presence of mind to ask for hot cinnamon rolls and a latte. Oh well.
Comments
Vessel Name: Mabrouka
Vessel Make/Model: CT-41
Hailing Port: Seattle, WA
Crew: Roy Neyman
About:
Mabrouka and I have been partners in crime since October 1998, hanging about in West Coast waters, first in San Diego, then in Seattle. All of that time we've lived together aboard. [...]
Extra:
I've called this blog "Blessed Lady" because that's my preferred translation from Arabic for "Mabrouka". She's a 1980 CT-41, one of several clones of the original Bill Garden design Mariner ketches. At 50 feet from the tip of her mizzen boom to the tip of her bow sprit, she's 16 tons of [...]
Mabrouka's Photos - Main
Photos 1 to 10 of 10
1
On the streets of Freemont
Street art edited.
Elvis the stuffed cat is a memento of my daughters at the age of about 5.  The peace sign was a gift from good friend, Karyn Borcich.  Thanks to both!
This is Swan as I knew him, though in a more rugged environment than we ever shared.  We usually met at the coffee shop or at Voula
This is of Swan as I would also like to have known him, ...cigarettes, cameras and wine.
This is Steve hosting our Elliott Bay Design Group company picnic at his vacation home in Darington.
I never went fishing with Steve, although he let me try out his fly casting rig in the river by his house during one of the company picnics he hosted.  I
The winter slip on Lake Union
Temporary raft up with Molly Bella near my old slip at Stimson Marina
 
1
This album shares photos from mainland and Baja Mexico.
1 Photo | 3 Sub-Albums
Created 1 March 2015
The beginning of the South Pacific cruise, heading to San Diego and Mexico
1 Photo | 6 Sub-Albums
Created 15 August 2014
Killing time with local sailing and projects before heading south with the Coho Ho Ho cruiser's rally
56 Photos
Created 29 June 2014
Kathy and Karyn (with a "Y") used me as an excuse for a party. I was just fine with that!
25 Photos
Created 31 May 2014
On Lake Union where Mabrouka and I spent the winter
20 Photos
Created 31 May 2014
Shakedown cruise to Port Townsend
7 Photos
Created 25 May 2014
Gunkholing in the Seattle area, with me and Mabrouka getting our sea legs back under us.
50 Photos | 28 Sub-Albums
Created 14 April 2013
Custom made sailing skiff hand-built by NW School of Wooden Boatbuilding in Port Hadlock, WA
18 Photos
Created 21 March 2013
Pre-retirement cruising pics
27 Photos
Created 21 March 2013
Photos accompanying Projects blogs.
43 Photos | 1 Sub-Album
Created 12 March 2013