Blessed Lady

This is the cruising blog of the sailing yacht Mabrouka. The Favorites in the side bar allow those with discriminating taste to filter for just the stuff you want to read. Thanks for visiting, Roy.

13 September 2015
21 August 2015
21 August 2015
20 June 2015 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
15 June 2015 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
15 June 2015 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
15 June 2015 | Mazatlan Marina, Mazatlan Mexico
13 April 2015 | Off Club Nautico, Mazatlan Commercial Harbor, Mazatlan, MX
15 February 2015 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
13 February 2015 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
25 January 2015
06 January 2015 | Mazatlan, MX
24 December 2014 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
24 December 2014 | Mazatlan, MX
22 December 2014
21 December 2014
18 December 2014 | Playa Isla de la Piedra, Mazatlan, MX
18 December 2014 | Mazatlan, MX
15 December 2014 | Ensenada des los Muertos, Mexico

Rogue's Gallery, Biopic Mary

29 October 2014 | Bahia Tortuga, Mexico
Roy / Sunny and hot
Mary made a chicken pot pieSo, Mary's cute, with short brown hair, a round, smiling face, and an athletic build. No doubt about it, these characteristics were what first caught my attention when she was introduced to me, but she also glowed with friendly confidence. When I learned she was a firefighter and a experienced paramedic, that immediately made her a prime candidate for crew. While we chatted about our experiences, selling each other as prospective captain and crew, me pitching my boat as a seaworthy craft and she, with limited experience, mostly her enthusiasm. One thing she made sure to tell me right up front was that she was happily married.

Everyone that knows me probably also knows that I'm constantly looking for interview candidates for permanent first mate on Mabrouka. I try to be very casual and unassuming about that and Mary looked too young for me anyway, but it was good that she'd put me on notice of her status to take that out off the interview agenda. No matter, ...I was looking for CREW.

Continuing the sales pitch, I invited her and a couple of other potential crew down to Mabrouka for a tour. She was duly impressed and expressed a strong interest in joining me in San Diego. One thing led to another and we agreed she'd join Dave and I for the San Diego to Cabo San Lucas run.

Somewhere along the way we were chatting on the phone about flight plans, what she needed to bring, etc. When it came to her arrival date in San Diego, she kept referring her need to work around her spouse's work and travel plans. At one point I commented that Mary's frequent referral to this person as her spouse sounded awfully formal to me and asked if said spouse had a name. To paraphrase, "Yes," she said. "Jennifer."

I recovered pretty quickly from my surprise. I might even go so far as to say that I masked it completely, but fact is that the thoughts that played in the background for the rest of the conversation have been of continuing interest to me. To summarize, I'm a traditionally raised sort of fellow and a committed heterosexual. That being said, I appreciate people for their humanity not their sexuality and don't see why anyone has to be labeled for their private activities.

Sometime early in our sail I asked Mary about her use of the term spouse when referring to her longtime life partner, Jen. Her answer was playful and had something to do with the entertainment she derived from the reactions she observed when people learned that she was gay. I liked that. Mary's not afraid to talk about this aspect of her life, but is also respectful that some people react negatively to it.

As interesting as this discussion is to me, it makes more than I want to of aspects of Mary's life that have nothing to do with her time on Mabrouka. Infinitely more pertinent is her unflagging good cheer and an almost rambunctious eagerness to pitch in and do more than her part to keep Mabrouka moving along in a positive direction. She indulged my tendency to be lazy in the galley, taking up cooking duties more than fair-mindedness would have allowed. She was always offering to reach things for us out of the cooler, ...often that was a celebratory afternoon beer. There was never a shortage of hands to rig sails or adjust lines when she was on deck and rarely if she was down below.

Another thing that made her particularly welcome on board was the passion she shared with Dave for surfing. Not only had she enjoyed the sport since she was a teenager, she'd been an instructor and a professional. Dave has never done either, but grew up surfing from a similar age and continued it through most of his 60 years.
Comments
Vessel Name: Mabrouka
Vessel Make/Model: CT-41
Hailing Port: Seattle, WA
Crew: Roy Neyman
About:
Mabrouka and I have been partners in crime since October 1998, hanging about in West Coast waters, first in San Diego, then in Seattle. All of that time we've lived together aboard. [...]
Extra:
I've called this blog "Blessed Lady" because that's my preferred translation from Arabic for "Mabrouka". She's a 1980 CT-41, one of several clones of the original Bill Garden design Mariner ketches. At 50 feet from the tip of her mizzen boom to the tip of her bow sprit, she's 16 tons of [...]
Mabrouka's Photos - Main
Photos 1 to 10 of 10
1
On the streets of Freemont
Street art edited.
Elvis the stuffed cat is a memento of my daughters at the age of about 5.  The peace sign was a gift from good friend, Karyn Borcich.  Thanks to both!
This is Swan as I knew him, though in a more rugged environment than we ever shared.  We usually met at the coffee shop or at Voula
This is of Swan as I would also like to have known him, ...cigarettes, cameras and wine.
This is Steve hosting our Elliott Bay Design Group company picnic at his vacation home in Darington.
I never went fishing with Steve, although he let me try out his fly casting rig in the river by his house during one of the company picnics he hosted.  I
The winter slip on Lake Union
Temporary raft up with Molly Bella near my old slip at Stimson Marina
 
1
This album shares photos from mainland and Baja Mexico.
1 Photo | 3 Sub-Albums
Created 1 March 2015
The beginning of the South Pacific cruise, heading to San Diego and Mexico
1 Photo | 6 Sub-Albums
Created 15 August 2014
Killing time with local sailing and projects before heading south with the Coho Ho Ho cruiser's rally
56 Photos
Created 29 June 2014
Kathy and Karyn (with a "Y") used me as an excuse for a party. I was just fine with that!
25 Photos
Created 31 May 2014
On Lake Union where Mabrouka and I spent the winter
20 Photos
Created 31 May 2014
Shakedown cruise to Port Townsend
7 Photos
Created 25 May 2014
Gunkholing in the Seattle area, with me and Mabrouka getting our sea legs back under us.
50 Photos | 28 Sub-Albums
Created 14 April 2013
Custom made sailing skiff hand-built by NW School of Wooden Boatbuilding in Port Hadlock, WA
18 Photos
Created 21 March 2013
Pre-retirement cruising pics
27 Photos
Created 21 March 2013
Photos accompanying Projects blogs.
43 Photos | 1 Sub-Album
Created 12 March 2013