Blessed Lady

This is the cruising blog of the sailing yacht Mabrouka. The Favorites in the side bar allow those with discriminating taste to filter for just the stuff you want to read. Thanks for visiting, Roy.

13 September 2015
21 August 2015
21 August 2015
20 June 2015 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
15 June 2015 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
15 June 2015 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
15 June 2015 | Mazatlan Marina, Mazatlan Mexico
13 April 2015 | Off Club Nautico, Mazatlan Commercial Harbor, Mazatlan, MX
15 February 2015 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
13 February 2015 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
25 January 2015
06 January 2015 | Mazatlan, MX
24 December 2014 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Mexico
24 December 2014 | Mazatlan, MX
22 December 2014
21 December 2014
18 December 2014 | Playa Isla de la Piedra, Mazatlan, MX
18 December 2014 | Mazatlan, MX
15 December 2014 | Ensenada des los Muertos, Mexico

Rogue's Gallery, Biopic Dave

29 October 2014 | Bahia Tortuga, Mexico
Roy / Sunny and hot
Dave and I arriving ashore in Bahia TortugaDave and I were classmates together in college, Webb Institute of Naval Architecture in Glen Cove, New York. So we’ve been friends since June 1973, over 41 years.

We shared a similar backstory in school in that we were both from California. Somehow I rated the nickname The California Kid, even though he seemed to fit that better than I, having been born and raised (I’m pretty sure) right there in Ocean Beach. I am a navy brat, so came from all over the place and only earned the west coast appellation by way of the modestly tricked out VW square back I’d driven across country, …wooden bumpers, curtains in the back windows, carpeted back deck AND ceiling, and fancy stereo.

What can I share about Dave? He was smart and studious in college, though not so much so as to make him unreachable. Serious, but also with a dry sense of humor and a ready laugh. I knew he’d be a good offshore sailing companion, calm and steady and with enough experience to know pretty much what he was getting into. He certainly knew me well enough to know what HE was getting into as far as personalities went.

Dave teaches giant squid a lessonHe’s surfed since he was 11 years old and I’ve always thought of him as a surfer dude. Funny thing about that is that I never really heard him use (what us non-surfers would thing of as) surfing lingo until he and Mary were chatting about the sport aboard Mabrouka. I can’t even resurrect any but the most straight forward terms like left and right breaks, but it was entertaining to hear the two of them get excited about the surfing conditions in Bahia Santa Maria.

Dave has inherited at least part of his dad’s real estate holdings in Ocean Beach. His sister has the other part and between the two of them they hold what amounts to a family compound consisting of four dwellings on two lots just a couple of blocks up from some of Dave’s favorite surfing spots at Sunset Cliffs. He’s taking a skilsaw and a paint brush to his properties there one at a time.

He’s also got a home in Bremerton, Washington. I remember going up there for job interviews many years ago and taking advantage of his hospitality. Man, was I impressed with his home with it’s expansive, bluff-top view over Port Orchard channel. That was part of what sealed the deal for me taking a job in the lovely Emerald State.

Technically I already knew this about him, but I was reminded that he’s also several types of an artist. First of all, he avidly pursues oil painting, something I understand to be a difficult medium requiring a lot of refined technique. What was particularly entertaining on the trip down was the revelation that he likes to write music. At one point there was a nautical turn of phrase that caught all our attention, “…the Tropic of Whetever…” Unlike the rest of us who threw it around occasionally in conversation, Dave picked it up and ran with it. Here are the lyrics to a song he came up with:

Tropic of Whatever

I was drinking in a bar down Cabo
She was steering the seat next ta' me
By her lines she looked as a cruiser
Kind of old school, sailin’ down by the lee

Bye n’ bye we got into talkin'
'Bout boats, n’ hopes and the sea
I could see she was a salt and not a poser
With trimmed phrases that didn't run free

As the earth spun the sun into the ocean
And the sky winked a coy green farewell
I got the nerve up to ask her
Her course was at the morning bell
She said "I'm bound for the Tropic of Whatever"
Sailin’ downwind; surfin’ the swell

I'm crossing the Tropic of Whatever
I’ll anchor where no one can tell
My rhumb line leads to Whatever
For I follow the the gull and the whale
Outbound for the Tropic of Whatever
Alone in my ship I shall sail
Comments
Vessel Name: Mabrouka
Vessel Make/Model: CT-41
Hailing Port: Seattle, WA
Crew: Roy Neyman
About:
Mabrouka and I have been partners in crime since October 1998, hanging about in West Coast waters, first in San Diego, then in Seattle. All of that time we've lived together aboard. [...]
Extra:
I've called this blog "Blessed Lady" because that's my preferred translation from Arabic for "Mabrouka". She's a 1980 CT-41, one of several clones of the original Bill Garden design Mariner ketches. At 50 feet from the tip of her mizzen boom to the tip of her bow sprit, she's 16 tons of [...]
Mabrouka's Photos - Main
Photos 1 to 10 of 10
1
On the streets of Freemont
Street art edited.
Elvis the stuffed cat is a memento of my daughters at the age of about 5.  The peace sign was a gift from good friend, Karyn Borcich.  Thanks to both!
This is Swan as I knew him, though in a more rugged environment than we ever shared.  We usually met at the coffee shop or at Voula
This is of Swan as I would also like to have known him, ...cigarettes, cameras and wine.
This is Steve hosting our Elliott Bay Design Group company picnic at his vacation home in Darington.
I never went fishing with Steve, although he let me try out his fly casting rig in the river by his house during one of the company picnics he hosted.  I
The winter slip on Lake Union
Temporary raft up with Molly Bella near my old slip at Stimson Marina
 
1
This album shares photos from mainland and Baja Mexico.
1 Photo | 3 Sub-Albums
Created 1 March 2015
The beginning of the South Pacific cruise, heading to San Diego and Mexico
1 Photo | 6 Sub-Albums
Created 15 August 2014
Killing time with local sailing and projects before heading south with the Coho Ho Ho cruiser's rally
56 Photos
Created 29 June 2014
Kathy and Karyn (with a "Y") used me as an excuse for a party. I was just fine with that!
25 Photos
Created 31 May 2014
On Lake Union where Mabrouka and I spent the winter
20 Photos
Created 31 May 2014
Shakedown cruise to Port Townsend
7 Photos
Created 25 May 2014
Gunkholing in the Seattle area, with me and Mabrouka getting our sea legs back under us.
50 Photos | 28 Sub-Albums
Created 14 April 2013
Custom made sailing skiff hand-built by NW School of Wooden Boatbuilding in Port Hadlock, WA
18 Photos
Created 21 March 2013
Pre-retirement cruising pics
27 Photos
Created 21 March 2013
Photos accompanying Projects blogs.
43 Photos | 1 Sub-Album
Created 12 March 2013