Land stranded to salty sailor! I hope....

12 June 2015
10 June 2015
03 June 2015 | Johnson City, Tn

Day three!!

12 June 2015
Yesterday was a big day! When I bought the boat it was docked in a "mud slip", the boat was actually touching the mud that's how shallow the water is. I drove around Jacksonville to a half dozen marinas, let me say it is very expensive to park at a marina. 10 to 12 dollars a foot to park. At first I was appalled at 400 dollars a month to have a place to dock. One marina wanted to charge 270 a month but then another 100 for electricity. I realize that every dollar that goes to the marina is a dollar I could have put into the boat. The last marina I went to, the one where the boat was sitting is where I decided on staying. The dock master is incredibly nice and we hit it off pretty good. So back to yesterday. Yesterday the dock master and myself decided on a slip and got the paperwork out of the way. The tide was low all day, suddenly around 4 I felt the boat move so I got the boat started, undid my lines and wanted to back out, but ended up doing a very tight u-turn, almost a pivot. I motored out past D dock and over to B dock turned in, spotted the slip and pulled into the wrong slip like a BOSS, dammit I had to move over one more slip. A nice woman on a boat on D dock was watching me and waving, then came running over to help me once I told her I'd never driven a sailboat. I managed to pull into my slip and I got tied off. The dock master helped me tie off and explained to me how properly tie to the dock.I hooked up my power cord, and water and am sitting pretty.

I've been in Alaska for the past three years and this Florida heat is stifling! The previous owner simply stuck his air conditioner in the companion way. Well my fat ass can't climb the four steps and jump the air conditioner so today I built a pretty nice box to fit over my forward hatch. It's still hot outside and the boat is hot, but I can feel the cold air around my legs. It may not help much during the day until I put a tarp over the deck but at night I"m comfortable with just the breeze so the ac should be a bonus. A side note. I am using a small dorm fridge and because of the heat it puts off I decided to turn it off during part of the day so the ac doesn't compete with it.
Last night I installed a 32 inch LED television. I wanted a 24 inch but the store didn't have any more. The marina has great wifi and I can stream netflix and Amazon no problem. Also I have a ps3 and am trying to teach myself the guitar using RockSmith.

Things to learn/read about. Number one is the toilet. The head has two levers and a three position knob. Also there is a pump handle to pump water, not really sure at all how it works, so I have to learn that system. I filled up my water tank about an hour ago also. It takes a special key to open the filler cap.

I sleep at night on the starboard couch, it's comfortable and I have been leaving the door open at night to let the breeze come in. I figure that if I were under way I would sleep there to be close to the steering wheel and radio. The forward V berth I'm using for storage, which is mostly extra sails, I think I got 7 sails with this boat. I have to go through them and see what is what. more of my clothes is going to storage tonight.
Comments
Vessel Name: Blind Side